Résonance de la vie

“The leaves of memory seemed to make
A mournful rustling in the dark.”
~Henry Wadsworth Longfellow

Résonance de la vie

They say

Hearing is the last sense

To close down

As we die

I have always had

Sensitive hearing

Will the echo of

The flames

Lapping at me

Carry me off

From this life

To what lies

Ahead

Résonance

Of a child’s cry

The lover’s threat

Crashing of waves

Ricochet

Accompany me now

And evermore

Better the laughter

And tears

Than no sounds

At all

Bisous,

Léa

About Léa

A wanderer who has found home and herself in the South of France.
This entry was posted in Perception and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

19 Responses to Résonance de la vie

  1. This is beautiful Lea, quite dark but beautiful and very thought provoking

    Christine

    • leamuse says:

      Thank you. As you know, sometimes we have some dark thoughts. However, did not seem to come from a dark place when writing it…
      Bisous,

      Léa

  2. claudia says:

    a very thought provoking and brave piece léa.. made me shiver a bit and wondering how it will be in the last moments..

    • leamuse says:

      Thank you Claudia. I cannot accept that bravery had anything to do with it. As often happens, it just leaked upon the page.
      “How can I know what I think, until I see what I say?” E.M. Forster
      Léa

  3. A journey beyond which my thoughts also sometimes dwell on but yet remains mysterious and unfathomable …till I get there. Good read Lea, very thought provoking!

    • leamuse says:

      You are kind and I thank you. Due to my work and my personal journey, I have ventured where most do not care to think of. Yet now I am here and I never thought life could be so good. I am indeed fortunate.
      Léa

  4. I am glad I had my ears open for this to creep in…

  5. beckarooney says:

    Hear hear 🙂 A very moving piece, it got me, the reader, drawn in from the first line. Brilliant writing! 🙂 ♥

  6. Rachel says:

    So sad we’ve been taught to approach the gate in fear. Maybe it’s really a celebration, Lea

  7. cindy knoke says:

    Have you published? You must, please!

    • leamuse says:

      Actually, I have done two small chapbooks under my married name. The first is available at Shakespeare & Company in Paris. However, I don’t even have a copy of it anymore. It was sold in a few local bookshops back in Sacramento and is in The California State Library. The title: Reality Is Relative: And other lies my birth certificate told me. The second was, Lies, Damned Lies And Poetry. It included copies of two of my paintings. I still have a few copies here but cannot think of anywhere else you would find it. It was also sold in a few bookstores that sold the work of local poets back in Sacramento but the few copies that were out there are most likely long gone. As a former member of The Vietnamese International Poetry Society, I have appeared in two of their volumes. There have also been a few other anthologies along the way. I guess this blog was a way to get my words back out there…

Leave a Reply

