Trad-ing Winds

“A great wind is blowing, and that gives you either imagination or a headache.”
– Catherine the Great

“As time goes by, I realize that I do trust the wind. And I often write my songs for myself.”
– David Friedman

“Come Fairies, take me out of this dull world, for I would ride with you upon the wind and dance upon the mountains like a flame!”
– William Butler Yeats

Trad-ing Winds

Born where

The Santa Ana’s

Drove me

Indoors

Pushed me away

Made me ill

Literally taking

My breath away

Cutting familial

Ties

I now live

Where the

Mistral

Is a frequent

Visitor

Howling

Outside

My door

Slamming

My beloved

Wooden shutters

I laugh

As the leaves

Swirl

Today the

Forces of

Power

Have shifted

I walk with

And against

Her fury

She whispers

Kindly

In my ear

Bisous,

Léa

About Léa

A wanderer who has found home in the South of France.
This entry was posted in Moving on and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Trad-ing Winds

  1. love this , particularly “I now live where the minstral is a frequent visitor” – beautifully rendered

  2. what a wonderful whirlwind of word, I am blown away!

Leave a Reply

