malevolent

“The first rule of any technology used in a business is that automation applied to an efficient operation will magnify the efficiency. The second is that the automation applied to an inefficient operation will magnify the inefficiency.”  – Bill Gates

“All of the books in the world contain no more information than is broadcast as video in a single large American city in a single year. Not all bits have equal information.”  – Carl Sagan

“The machine does not isolate man from the great problems of nature but plunges him more deeply into them.”  – Antoine de Saint-Exupery

“The most important and urgent problems of the technology of today are no longer the satisfactions of the primary needs or of archetypal wishes, but the reparation of the evils and damages by the technology of yesterday.”  – Dennis Gabor

malevolent

kindle

the name

evokes something

warm, fuzzy

huggable

yet there is nothing

comforting

about a hard

plastic case

which requires

batteries

frequent recharging

and ends its days

heaped among

other must haves

that litter the

planet

eroding

contaminating

all that nature

has placed in

trust

cannot be passed down

to subsequent

generations

or shared with

friends

kindle old

before his time

already outdated

before leaving

the manufacture

global footprint

nightmare

there will be no

used kindle shops

where poets linger

wistfully

over coffee

paperbacks

and HOWL

*

bisous,

léa

About Léa

A wanderer who has found home in the South of France.
This entry was posted in Commentary and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to malevolent

  1. Sheila says:

    Lovely and so true. I keep wondering why they didn’t make them solar at least. They easily could have – I still have a solar calculator from high school (a long time ago) that works fine and never needed electricity.

    • leamuse says:

      Why indeed? Ask those who make the batteries… You know the drill. Make money at the expense of the environment. I remember those calculators but I still don’t want to curl up with a hard plastic or metal case. thanks for commenting.

  2. I like the idea of downloadable books but have resisted buying a Kindle or similar contraption. My solution was to download the free version of Kindle-for-PC and now I can buy all the books I want from Amazon without killing any trees or having those batteries or plastic enlarge a landfill. It works for me.

    • leamuse says:

      Understandable. Yet like many others, I take a book with me when I go upstairs for the night. It just would not be the same for me… Also, I have always enjoyed sharing the good books with friends and family then discussing what we have shared. For me, it just doesn’t feel the same, an old paperback that someone has placed in my hands and said, “read this, you’ll love it” already feels like a friend. 🙂

  3. singingbones says:

    I couldn’t agree more, Lea! Long live real BOOKS which you can thumb through, smell, hold in your hands, feel their weight, admire their typography and illustrations, and continue to buy in used bookshops for many many years to come!! SB

    • leamuse says:

      Absolutely! Books have many lives and sharing them is something I do enjoy. It is also nice to read an old paperback in which someone has penciled a comment that often seems just right.
      LL

  4. journeyintopoetJourney into says:

    This is a very difficult one for me.

    When kindles first came onto the scene I thought they were awful; I would never get one in a million years. I still strongly believe they will never take the place of books. Just the feel and smell of a book is wonderful to me before I even start to read.:) and I feel just like you do about them feeling like friends.

    However, since my mobility has lessened together with a much increased weakness in my hands I have turned my thinking around. My children bought me a touch kindle for this very reason and now I can read so much more! I have always been an avid reader but this had declined because I can no longer comfortably handle a book.

    Now I can take my kindle to bed with a drink too! All I have to so is perch it on my knee( it’s in a case that props up) and when ready for the next page I just have to tap it very lightly with a finger and hey presto!! It is amazing!

    I also have a long term eye problem so if I need to I can also make the print bigger with a touch!

    However I do find myself mourning the fact that books are now difficult for me, it’s quite sad really. And the idea that they could be solar powered is a good one. I wonder why they didn’t do this; maybe there is a good reaon behind it but that would make them a little more acceptable environmentally I feel.

    So my loyalties are divided here! Lol

    Lots of love

    Christine xxxxxx

    • leamuse says:

      Please forgive me. I did not mean to include those who have a totally valid reason to use what means are available. Furthermore, I am not judging anyone. I am simply voicing my feelings and perhaps a fear that someday our choices of printed matter will be less available. As for the batteries, that will not change as long as companies make so much money off them.

      Love,

      L
      XXX

      • Lea, I have just seen your reply to my comment. I need to say I wasnt at all offended by your post:), quite the opposite, be ause I do feel we could be heading for a rather cold future with all this “stuff” . Its just for myself the kindle has been sonewhat of a Godsend and I never thought i would hear myslf say that!! Lol

        Lots of love

        Christone

        Xxxxxxxx

      • leamuse says:

        Christine, I am happy that it is helpful to you. Despite my raging against “stuff” I am attached to my computer… 🙂

        Love and cards,

        Lea

        XXXX

  5. ha…no old kindle shops where poets meet…yeah…nothing can replace the scent and feel of real books..

  6. sagedoyle says:

    Yes, nice quotes here. J.F.K. also had some great quotes, particularly about education. And for a physicist, Einstein could be quite abstractly philosophical 😉

    • leamuse says:

      There are so many great quotes out there, I have quoted J.F.K. a few times and Einstein on several occasions. Thanks for stopping by and commenting.

Leave a Reply

