tongue lashings

“In a time of universal deceit – telling the truth is a revolutionary act.”

–  George Orwell

***

tongue lashings

she saunters to the

mic

whetting her lips

lowering them in a

hover

taking control

of the mic

of the

room

all is quiet

as her

razor sharp

shards are

propelled into the

night

vérité dans la poésie

***

Bisous,

Léa

About Léa

A wanderer who has found home in the South of France.
This entry was posted in Writing and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to tongue lashings

  1. claudia says:

    wow..i didn’t quite expect the ..razor sharp
    shards… but maybe should’ve after the orwell quote…poetry is def. a tool to make our voice heard..

    • leamuse says:

      Well, I do like a quote that goes with the poem. The readings I have done were all in California and sharp was frequently on the menu. Merci!

  2. deanjbaker says:

    great quote – feel free to join me on on my other social sites

  3. I want to be her! I think we all do…

    Did you write this poem about a person while at a performance? Or was it imagery that just came to you in some other setting?

    Just curious.

    • leamuse says:

      There isn’t a doubt in my mind that you would fill the role nicely. A few times, I have managed with a few of my poems over the years and there were a few others in the community that filled the role quite well. Actually, the title comes from the name of an ongoing poetry series that took place in Sacramento years ago. It took over when I had to shut down the one I ran. However, I only attended Tongue Lashings once and got kicked out. You know your a poet when you get kicked out of one of the places we use to read… 🙂

      BTW, the reading I use to host was called B.I.T.C.H. Night! I will let you take those letters anywhere you like!

      • Why thank you.

        You got kicked out?! You’re poetry must’ve been badASS. The title is great as is B.I.T.C.H night.

        Because.
        I.
        Told.
        Cha-so.
        HOLLA.

      • leamuse says:

        B.I.T.C.H. is an acronym. There is no doubt you can take those letters and do justice to the spirit of the readings! My money is on you.

        The owner of the cafe eighty-six’d me for reading The Immaculate Orgasm, naturally, I put my “heart” into it! 🙂 It certainly made my night.

      • Oh wow awesome, it is always my fear to offend someone–but then I know I would simultaneously be flattered. I won’t have made it until someone tells me their offended haha.

        Way to go.

      • leamuse says:

        Understood. It was not my goal to offend, but when you can evoke that much emotion you know you are doing something right. The same poem got me a featured reading at a slam poetry venue. If you are not there yet, I doubt that you are too far off.

        Bon courage et bon chance!

      • Haha, thanks Lea.

      • leamuse says:

        My pleasure Terah! I shall continue to enjoy getting to know you through your posts. 🙂

Leave a Reply

