Vérités factices

“It is discouraging how many people are shocked by honesty and how few by deceit.”

–       Noel Coward

“During times of universal deceit, telling the truth becomes a revolutionary act.”

–       George Orwell

“The great masses of people will more easily fall victims to a big lie than to a small one.”

–       Adolf Hitler

“For I have sworn thee fair, and thought thee bright, who art as black as hell, as dark as night.”

–   William Shakespeare

* * *

Vérités factices

In the beginning

The mirror was cracked

Fragments dispersed

Edges splintered

Scattered

Unrecognizable

As to the piece

Of origin

Dust-like particles

Swept up

Glued into something

Resembling

Legitimacy

Recorded by the

Proper authorities

These lies follow me

Those who could testify

Are dead, save one

She drones on

Spinning her

Webs of

Deceit

* * *

Bisous,

Léa

About Léa

A wanderer who has found home and herself in the South of France.
This entry was posted in Musings and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to Vérités factices

  1. kvennarad says:

    The most effective lie is one based on an observable fact.

    M
    __________
    Marie Marshall
    author/poet/editor
    Scotland

  2. johncoyote says:

    I like the quotes and the amazing poetry. Deceit can come in sheep clothing. Always wise to know the facts. Thank you for sharing the poem and the quotes.

    • leamuse says:

      Thank you! Yes, sheep’s clothing or disguised as a parent…
      I’ve just been to your site and left a few marks. Please keep up the great work!
      To be truthful, I am a bit quote mad and love to share a good one when I find it.

  3. claudia says:

    ugh..the cracked mirror reminded me of snow-white somehow and her story with that lady, that didn’t do her any good…sad when things like that happen…

  4. Thought provoking as ever Lea – both with the poem and the quotes. You always have something interesting to say.

    • leamuse says:

      What a lovely compliment! Whatever my life has been, it has not been dull. If it can provoke a thought in others, I cannot ask for more. Thank you!

  5. cindy knoke says:

    Publish! Publish!
    Your poems rock my dear.
    This poem, of course, makes me wonder……

    • leamuse says:

      Oh dear! You wonder about what? My poetry? My writing? …

      I believe I mentioned before that I have done two small chapbooks and been in a few anthologies. A friend gave me a book of french poetry two weeks ago with the challenge to write some poems in french. I have done one so far that is entirely in french. However, there is a line that bothers me so it won’t get posted before I am comfortable with it.

  6. Hi Lea,

    This is a really powerful poem – I don’t know how I missed it. Probably Christmas got in the way. Love the cracked mirror analogy.

    I love all the quotes too. I am going to read them again.

    Love

    Christine xx

Leave a Reply

