La Langue Maternelle

“We must develop and maintain the capacity to forgive. He who is devoid of the power to forgive is devoid of the power to love. There is There is some good in the worst of us and some evil in the best of us. When we discover this, we are less prone to hate our enemies.”    –  Martin Luther King

“I shall allow no man to belittle my soul by making me hate him.”

– Booker T. Washington

“The three hardest tasks in the world are neither physical feats nor intellectual achievements, but moral acts: to return love for hate, to include the excluded, and to say, “I was wrong”.   –  Sydney J. Harris

***

La Langue Maternelle

Two sides to

Everything

Especially

Your face

You spoke to

Me and

Others

About this one

And that one

And without stopping

For breath

Turn to them

To speak of

Me

Yet cannot begin

To comprehend

Why the few

Who continue

To listen

To attend you

Are the same

Ones

Talking behind

Your

Back

Your

Razor sharp

Tongue

Viler than any

Serpent

Medusa

Could have learned much

From you

The tears for you

Were shed into the

Sand

I leave you with

Love (does it sound strange?)

From a safe distance

And

Pity

***

Bisous,

Léa

About Léa

A wanderer who has found home in the South of France.
This entry was posted in Moving on and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to La Langue Maternelle

  1. Wow Lea

    This is extremely powerful.

    Forgiving and returning hate with love can only lead to inner peace.

    When I am finding it difficult to forgive, I always try to think that I would wish and hope to be forgiven for my wrongdoings. And for believers who have a God of their understanding, then I am sure that God would forgive, so if God can forgive, then who are we not to?

    I dont think my comment is very articulate. I hope you can understand where i am coming from. I think if I say it basically, I am saying that as a human being sometimes it seems hard to forgive, but it is the only way to peace.

    Love

    Christine xxxx

    • leamuse says:

      You were quite articulate and for some of of, forgiveness was a journey. It did not happen overnight but it certainly is the way to peace. Yet there is a caveat. Forgiveness can be given but trust must be earned and they do not go hand in hand. Sometimes you can forgive someone but they have such toxic behaviours that we must let them go from our lives.

      Love,

      Lea
      xxxxx

  2. patricia b says:

    So enjoyed this in particular maybe because there are hard feelings between my daughters.  Two of them are buddied up against the other two and I just hate it !  I try to stay out of it tho as I would just end up in hot water if I stuck my nose in.  I am going to send your post to all 4 of them and hopefully it may start them thinking.  What are you busy with these days besides your beautiful poetry ?  Are you still with the singing group ? You live in such a marvelous place and I know how much you love it, you are a woman of decision for sure and good for you.  Wish I would have made a different decision where I would end up living but feel it may be too late now to change.  I would, but my husband is not real well and also very set in his ways so guess we will make the best of it. Keep in touch, your e-mails and poetry are always a very welcome part of my days. Love and best wishes, Bev  ________________________________

    • leamuse says:

      Thanks Bev! Your comments and emails are always appreciated. Sibling rivalry is difficult and getting in the middle of it is risky. Is there any chance of them agreeing to meeting with a therapist. Regardless of what you all choose to do, I wish you the best.

      Yes, I am still in the choir and always on the lookout for something or somewhere to blog about.

      Love,

      Lea

  3. Yes definitely! Forgiveness doesnt mean the person we have forgiven should necessarily stay in our lives. And yes it is a journey. i had to do that very thing, let someone go, and I have been working on the forgiveness for years and years. I am almost there but what happened was so very destructive it has been extremely dificult to climb back from it. Sometimes the hurt is so strong that its just too hard and I have to put it all away and do nothing with it.

    Xxxx

  4. claudia says:

    ugh…so tough when that happens…and good to be able to forgive and understandable to keep a safe distance…

  5. I really like this poem… it’s touching and totally relatable at the same time as being bittersweet.

Leave a Reply

