Circular-causality

“I do not consider divorce an evil by any means. It is just as much a refuge for women married to brutal men as Canada was to the slaves of brutal masters.”   –  Susan B. Anthony

” If love does not know how to give and take without restrictions, it is not love but a transaction that never fails to lay stress on a plus and minus.”  –  Emma Goldman

***

Circular-causality

When I left

You

I lay in a

Bed

One pillow

Undisturbed

Sleeping peacefully

At last

When I left

You

The weight of

The world

Toppled

Cascading

From weary shoulders

When I left you

My footsteps – yet

Unsure – guarded

Plodded forward

Into the unknown world

Of learning

You and

Others told me – I could

Not make it

When I left you

There were new friends

Trips to the theatre, museums

Classes, professors

While I was

Looking over my

Shoulder

Waiting for the

Failure

Yet we kept a roof

Over our heads

And each semester

I moved toward the promises

Of the next

My eyes opened wider

With each new step

Experiences extrapolated

The view

Bachelor’s degree

Then a Masters

Adding up

Priorities

You could never

Comprehend

Introspection

Those early

Terrifying,

Stumbling

Footfalls

Learning to dream

Setting boundaries

Having goals

Dreaming

Believing

Allowing the

Dream to

Come true

When

I left

You

***

Bisous,

Léa

About Léa

A wanderer who has found home in the South of France.
This entry was posted in Moving on and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to Circular-causality

  1. Oh Man.

    Bravo.

    Really, really good stuff Lea.

  2. This is wonderful Lea!!

    And the way you taper the words is so effective 😊

    Love

    Christi e xxx

  3. cjm76 says:

    Powerful stuff. Bravo! xoxo

    • leamuse says:

      Hi Carly, so good to hear from you. Thanks for the encouragement. Perhaps it was a case of making some really good lemonade from all those lemons…
      xxxx

  4. cindy knoke says:

    Goose-bumpy, sad & lovely.

    • leamuse says:

      Sometimes we do not have a clue what we can accomplish.

      Sometimes, the dream was not big enough and we pushed farther…

      Now, we cannot stop smiling. Merci beaucoup!

  5. This is a poem that could (perhaps without you even knowing it) give strength to a woman reading it at the beginning of her journey. Such dignity.

    • leamuse says:

      While I cannot claim that intent while writing it, once you point it out, I can see that. Having “been there” gave me many tools that were useful with my clients in the future. Thank you.

  6. Eileen says:

    Wow! Hooray! I’ll will share this with others starting over on their own. Such a gift of hope.

    • leamuse says:

      How kind. Thank you! It has been a long journey but where I am now is way beyond anything I could have dreamed. I just can’t stop smiling!

  7. claudia says:

    i’m glad she found her way and was able to live her dreams…i also like the goldman quote…yeah… if all it is is a transaction that never fails to lay stress on a plus and minus, it’s probably better to move on…

Leave a Reply

