Hero: Women’s History Month

“You gain strength, courage and confidence by every experience in which you really stop to look fear in the face. You are able to say to yourself, ‘I lived through this horror. I can take the next thing that comes along.’… You must do the thing you think you cannot do.”   –  Eleanor Roosevelt

 

 

...

Back row: Shirley, Beverly, Dale, Barbara, Donna – Front row: Iris with mother, Irene

Hero: Women’s History Month

– 

Too young

To be a wife

Too young

To have six

Children

Too young

To be a widow

During a

Depression

That rocked

A nation

Dust-bowl days

Too young

But she did it

Anyway

Working two

Or three jobs

Even the oldest

Child, quite young

Early morning

Milk run

Driving a cart

About town

The youngest bundled-up

Along for the ride

Taking in laundry

Yet always made

Time for games and lessons

Much later, when I was born

Offering to mother me

Nighttime work

Running the projector

Rex Theatre on Court Street

Sweeping up popcorn

After the show

Weekends scraping gum

Off the bottom of seats

Renting out an empty room

For hunters

In season

Always a sparkle

In those bright blue eyes

The first to welcome you

Hugs and kisses

Never rationed, regardless

Of what might be

In short supply

Great riches

Packed within

Diminutive form

Irene

Dear great-aunt

Despite their efforts

That I should never know you

We were found

With only a few years

Before your death

101 years young

Your arms reached out

Without conditions

Nor question

Giving my heart

At last, a home

And the mother

I never had

Bisous,

Léa

About Léa

A wanderer who has found home in the South of France.
This entry was posted in Inspiration, Tribute and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Hero: Women’s History Month

  1. johncoyote says:

    Beautiful photo and words. Woman are the strength and hope of the family. Thank you for the excellent poem.

    • leamuse says:

      They can be and she was the Prime example. Unfortunately, it was only November 2005 that I knew she existed. In a very short time she changed my life and then was gone less than five years later. I am grateful for every moment I knew her.
      Thank you!

  2. Robert says:

    I like this one. Well I like them all but this one resonated with me.

  3. This is beautiful Lea, sad, happy, and reflective, and all wrapped up cosily in memories of someone very special. A strong, caring wonan. So pleased you had time with her. Xxxx

  4. This really caught my attention. The strength and determination – always to be cherished and remembered.

  5. cindy knoke says:

    Wonderful Lea! So on the mark….as usual my dear! Cheers to you~

  6. robert Sinclair says:

    Hey Leah, I’m worried. I haven’t seen anything from you for weeks and you have not responded to my e-mails. Please let me know you are ok.

Leave a Reply

