Un café s’il vous plaît

“A different language is a different vision of life.”   – Federico Fellini

“The sum of human wisdom is not contained in any one language.”  

– Ezra Pound

“A man who does not know a foreign language is ignorant of his own.”

– Johann Wolfgang von Goethe

*

Un café s’il vous plaît

*

Most mornings

I

Start the same

Un petit noir

Deux fois

*

Aujourd’hui

Making my pilgrimage

Despite pouring rain, et

Vent violents

My new umbrella

Turned inside

Out

*

Le journal à lire

People to greet

Chatting vigilantly

With the new-found

Tongue – as if

Trying it on for

Size

*

Se réprimander

Unsure at times

If I am grammatically

Correct

Yet eager to

Améliorez

*

Risqué du rire

Armed to laugh

At myself

Never one to stop

And test the waters

Je plonge dans la tête

D’abord

*

Laughing at

Myself

I will return tomorrow

Practicing, stumbling,

Learning

*

Bisous,

Léa

About Léa

A wanderer who has found home in the South of France.
This entry was posted in Education and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Un café s’il vous plaît

  1. Oh Lea! I’m so pleased to see this! It tells me you are getting better. And what a fantastic poem too!! Its so beautifully expressive and the way you weave both languages together is superb!

    There is a little synchronicity too, I am sure, beause I have juat returned from a “walk” in the strong wind ovn my scooter and for the very first time with my lovely dog Jack! We hooked his lead onto it and he walked beautifully by my side. I took a daughter with me too, till I get used to it. But we will get tere eventually,, just him and me. But I kept having to laugh at myself and my little mistakes as we went tru dling along. I feel so happy I have done this. And I am so happy to “see” you too!!!

    I rhink we have both just experienced diving straight into the deep today! 🙂

    Lots of love and hugs

    Christine xxx

    • leamuse says:

      Thank you so much Christine! Your support means so much.

      As for diving in head first, that is my normal approach to most things. The hardest part is being patient with myself. When it is someone else, it is natural but when it is me… The War Horse kicks in. 🙂

      I shall imagine you, Jack and the lucky daughter out exploring the beautiful Yorkshires!

      Gros bisous,

      Lea xxxx

  2. Love. Simplicity and elegance. It didn’t bother me one bit that I had to skip over words in a language I do not know. I didn’t even hiccup once in this poem–it all flowed. Love the dual language thing.

  3. cindy knoke says:

    Wonderful & great to hear from you my friend!

  4. Bev says:

    Lea, so beautiful as always and flowed like a song. I am so very glad you are doing better and can’t tell you how much I have missed your lovely poetry.
    Keep me posted on your progress and take very good care of yourself..
    Love, Bev

    • leamuse says:

      Thank you Bev for all your kind support. It has been quite a journey on this side.

      I shall be in touch soon through the usual channel. You wouldn’t believe all the messages to sort through.

      Gros bisous,

      Lea

  5. Robert Sinclair says:

    I’m glad you are home and doing better. Well I presume those two things.

    I had my own hospital visit. Last Sunday I was out riding and was stuck from behind at a high rate of speed by a motor cycle. I spent a night in the hospital. I had some internal bleeding, broke a minor bone, lost some skin and I so bruised and sore. And I’m still really sore and bruised a week later.

    I hope you are well.

    Robert

    Sent from my iPhone

    • leamuse says:

      Glad to hear that you are doing better it sounds as though you were very fortunate to come through so well. Bon courage et bonne chance!

Leave a Reply

