Talk: it doesn’t come

“The most exhausting thing in life is being insincere.” 

–       Anne Morrow Lindbergh

 

“It has always seemed strange to me… the things we admire in men, kindness and generosity, openness, honesty, understanding and feeling, are the concomitants of failure in our system. And those traits we detest, sharpness, greed, acquisitiveness, meanness, egotism and self-interest, are the traits of success. And while men admire the quality of the first they love the produce of the second.”   –  John Steinbeck

 

“A man is the sum of his actions, of what he has done, of what he can do, Nothing else.   –  Mahatma Gandhi

***

Talk: it doesn’t come

It doesn’t come

Any cheaper

Than that

A few words

Without the

Actions to

Reinforce

My lack of

You

Why you call

Once or twice a

Year

In five years

Not a single

Visit

Yet when there is

Brief chat (always too busy)

Or email

You tell me

You love me

And how

I am

Missed

But the

Actions

Or shall we

Simply say the

Lack

Of action

Reverberate

Across the

Sea

***

Bisous,

Léa

About Léa

A wanderer who has found home in the South of France.
This entry was posted in Musings, Relationships and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Talk: it doesn’t come

  1. This is so sad Lea, but a true reflection unfortunately.

    I have a sinilar situation in my life, which I simply dont understand. Very sad.

    Wonderful poem and quotes from you as ever.

    Hope you are doung okay.

    Love

    Christine xx

    • leamuse says:

      Yes Christine, it is sad to have people move on. Whatever imprint they have made lives on within us. While it doesn’t take away from the pain, it does create a space for someone else to come into our lives.

      As always, thanks for the kind words and support.

      Gros bisous,

      Léa xxx

  2. Bev says:

    This is so true and so sad that some people won’t take time for each other. I hope you are feeling better With thoughts of you, Bev

    • leamuse says:

      You are right as usual Bev. Yet even though they may choose not to continue the journey together, they leave footprints on our memories. When someone steps aside it creates a space for someone who wants to become a part of the future. I have been most fortunate that there have been so many wonderful people come into my life. Léa xx

  3. So easy to let things slide… I know I’m guilty of this at times and the longer it goes, the harder it is to make the distance… A poem to make me think: thus, a good one.

    • leamuse says:

      Thank you Holly. I do love the ones that set the wheels spinning. While sad, I try to remain optimistic and leave the door open. Also, every ending is also a new beginning. I am grateful to the wonderful people who have come into my life. I am most fortunate. 🙂

  4. Sheila says:

    Very beautiful poem. I love the “my lack of/You” part and then the ending with the lack of action felt reverberating across the sea. I hope you’re feeling better these days.

Leave a Reply

