a poem for my mother

“There’s a phrase, “the elephant in the living room”, which purports to describe what it’s like to live with a drug addict, an alcoholic, an abuser. People outside such relationships will sometimes ask, “How could you let such business go on for so many years? Didn’t you see the elephant in the living room?” And it’s so hard for anyone living in a more normal situation to understand the answer that comes closest to the truth; “I’m sorry, but it was there when I moved in. I didn’t know it was an elephant; I thought it was part of the furniture.” There comes an aha-moment for some folks – the lucky ones – when they suddenly recognize the difference.”   –  Stephen King

“To those who abuse: the sin is yours, the crime is yours, and the shame is yours. To those who protect the perpetrators: blaming the victims only masks the evil within, making you as guilty as those who abuse. Stand up for the innocent or go down with the rest.”   –  Flora Jessop

a poem for my mother

you say I don’t

remember you

on mother’s day

you tell your friends

i don’t know you exist

 *

but I know

and now I remember

how you took

my childhood

like those

 *

newborn kittens

stuffed into

a burlap sack

sides pulled up

tied tightly

with a fat length

of cord

 *

darkness –

anchored to

that large rock

tossed from the

end of the pier

into the Pacific Ocean

*

over

without a whimper

and you say I don’t remember

you on mother’s day

*

bisous,

léa

About Léa

A wanderer who has found home and herself in the South of France.
This entry was posted in Relationships and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

30 Responses to a poem for my mother

  1. cjm76 says:

    Powerful stuff, my sweet. Sending much love and light to you from across the pond xoxo

  2. cjm76 says:

    Awesome 🙂 So happy to share! YAY! xoxo

  3. I am in love with your poetry Lea! Way to go on this one–going to check out this cauldron & cupcakes now 🙂

    • leamuse says:

      Terah, thank you so much! I’m glad you hear that you are checking out Nicole’s blog. It speaks to so many. I found myself in several of the categories and had to share it. xxx 🙂

  4. Very sad poem Lea, and I feel your pain in your words.

    Lots of love

    Christine xxx

    • leamuse says:

      Like in the VE Day poem, many of us have wounds, some were fatal and hopefully we recover when they were not. Not all scars are visible and with luck and a lot of blood,sweat and tears we move on. There are all kinds of “War”.

      Gros bisous,
      Lea XxxX

  5. cindy knoke says:

    Powerful. I am glad you wrote it~

  6. melanietoulouse says:

    Très impressionnant, Léa… thanx for sharing! Si tu as some spare time & interest:
    http://incaunipocrit.wordpress.com/2012/02/16/maman/
    It’s written in Romanian, but Mr Google is quite generous and patient… 🙂
    Hugs & bisous, Mélanie

  7. JM Simpson says:

    Thank goodness you found words and art to heal.

    • leamuse says:

      Julia, one true thing is Art won’t hurt you. Art and the sea have been very therapeutic. Fortunately, both are right here. Thank you.

  8. solaner says:

    Hi Léa,
    we’ve a similar saying her: he / she behaves like an elephant in a china shop.
    The meaning is: one’s manners are so bad, the all relationships / friendships and so on were completely destroyed.
    Your saying is also very interesting.

  9. beckarooney says:

    The feelings which come across in this are so powerful, strongly and written in a way that it commanded my attention from the moment I started reading. To be able to write this about your own mother shows self-expression at its best. Brilliant work as always Lea 🙂 x

  10. Sheila says:

    Very sad and powerful. xoxo

    • leamuse says:

      I had second thoughts about posting it. However, “Mother’s Day” and “Father’s Day” can rub salt in the wounds of those who had a much different experience. I’ve spent years working with many of them and came from that myself. Writing about it can be healing. Sometimes sharing it helps someone else. xoxo

  11. Sister Su says:

    The woman you spoke of in your poem was not a mother, i was there. Your writing are so real. take care. oxoxox

    • leamuse says:

      Merci beaucoup Su! You did witness a lot of it. You also had your own demons yet kept some of my memories for me. The ones I had abandoned. xoxoxox

Leave a Reply

