Doucement

“The leaves of memory seemed to make a mournful rustling in the dark.” 

–       Henry Wadsworth Longfellow

 

“A good friend is a connection to life-a tie to the past, a road to the future, the key to sanity in a totally insane world.”   –  Lois Wyse

 

 *

 

Doucement

Gently

I shall carry those

Memories

From childhood

Without question

Or judgment

Locked securely

À mon coeur

As long as necessary

Garde –

Garde-

They rest silently

Protected

By all I have seen

And heard

As you are strong

Enough to consider

You only need ask

I stand ready

To bear witness

*

Bisous,

Léa

About Léa

A wanderer who has found home in the South of France.
This entry was posted in Relationships and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to Doucement

  1. FlutePlayer says:

    Leaves of grass.

  2. Sheila says:

    Very beautiful – I love the mixture of French and English and the tone of this like whispering.

  3. I too, love the mix of language. It adds sonething, though Im not sure exactly what, but that doesnt matter.

    This is quite powerful,your words are full of depth and feeling. All accompanied, of course, by the wonderful quotes.

    Im not sure Ive ever experienced sanity! 🙂

    Love

    Christine xx

    • leamuse says:

      Christine, if you ever have any doubts about the existence of sanity, look around at those most vocal about being sane! 🙂 I do hear that sanity is highly overrated.

      I hope you are feeling better? My thoughts stay with you.

      Love,

      Lea

      xxx

  4. I will continue to enjoy my insanity!

    I am getting there very slowly thank you. . I dont feel anything like well, but today is better, so that gives me a hopeful feeling. A little more patience required yet!

    Xx

    • leamuse says:

      I have plenty of patience as long as it is for someone else. With myself, someone inside keeps pushing… 🙂

      Glad to hear there is some improvement.

      XxXx

  5. Lovely. “To bear witness” especially.

  6. cindy knoke says:

    This is lovely Lea. As usual~

  7. cindy knoke says:

    Did you know we now have 4 LCSW’s here in blogdom! I love it~

  8. Eileen says:

    I love the combination of english and french. Somethings are just better in French!
    Your poetry is so amazing…..simple, deep, and lovely.

    • leamuse says:

      Merci beaucoup Eileen!
      For me, everything is better in French! Unfortunately, my skills are not there yet.
      If you read a poem I wrote some months back, Les Mots, it explains how it happens. I didn’t get it myself until I read the piece.
      There is a quote from a great writer that explained it to me, and meant so very much.
      “I don’t know what I think, until I read what I said.” E.M. Forrester

Leave a Reply

