A quote, books and an author…

“Whereas story is processed in the mind in a straightforward manner, poetry bypasses the rational thought and goes straight to the limbic system and lights up like a bushfire. It’s the crack cocaine of the literary world.” Jasper Fforde  –  (First among sequels)

This quote comes from a book I just finished reading. For those of you who have not yet discovered Jasper Fforde, perhaps this is the time. His Thursday Next series has been most enjoyable but also a tremendous stretch. I’ve never been into reading fantasy but would follow him right back into the Literary World he has created. The first book in the series, The Eyre Affair, our tour guide was none other than Miss Havisham who trained the intrepid Miss Next. Thursday is an excellent student and rapidly builds her reputation among the Literary Operatives of the book world. To date there are seven books in the series: The Eyre Affair, Lost in a Good Book, The Well of Lost Plots, Something Rotten, First Among Sequels, One of Our Thursday’s is Missing and The Woman Who Died a Lot.

You can follow Thursday as she travels around hopping into this book or that, interacting with characters, story and text. Of course there is the evil nemesis The Goliath Corporation and they are always on Thursday’s heels. Due to great advances in the world of genetic engineering, cloning is a popular hobby and therefore, Thursday has a pet Dodo bird. Re-engineered Mammoths can be a menace to gardens in their path.    

For those of you who have not yet made your travel plans for August, you can join in on the festivities at the annual Fforde Ffiesta. It is located in the town of Swindon the hometown of Miss Next. This weekend of silliness is inspired by the works of Jasper Fforde.  This year, 2013 will be set in the year 2057. For more information on the event and the opportunity to meet Jasper Fforde check out this website:  http://www.ffordeffiesta.co.uk/

Bisous, 

Léa

About Léa

A wanderer who has found home and herself in the South of France.
This entry was posted in Creativity, Humor, Inspiration and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to A quote, books and an author…

  1. I love the quote. Its strange because I saw it for the first time only last week, but I cant remember where I read it!

    This author and his work sound intriguing, but I don’t think it’s my sort of thing! 🙂

    Love

    Christine xx

    • leamuse says:

      Christine, I had no doubt that it wasn’t my thing as I prefer biographies, history and politics when not reading poetry. Then I picked up The Eyre Affair by chance and was hooked. My trusted friend, Rita, says the second series called The Nursery Crimes is not as good but quite readable. However, I have laughed my way though the first five books of Miss Next’s adventures and look forward to the last two. He has creatively woven some of the things I do enjoy into the stories and remember, Laughter is the best medicine! 🙂

      For myself, I must challenge me and reading that first book was a challenge and it did stretch my imagination which is just what I needed. 🙂

      Love,

      Léa xx

  2. A challenge is always good! I have a queue of books on my kindle at the moment so I will attend to these but I may dip my toes in at the edge sometime in the future! 🙂 xxx

    • leamuse says:

      If you do, I don’t think you will be sorry. 🙂 I am not even sure why I picked up the first book as it is so different than what I usually read. However, I was reminded of that being a good thing. 🙂 xxx

  3. cindy knoke says:

    How fascinating Lea! Thank you for the intro~

    • leamuse says:

      Cindy, he is so unlike anything I have ever read. I’ve never had an interest in fantasy but something compelled me to pick up that first book. Now I look forward to #6 & #7 which is the last two in the series. There is even a bit of Orwell/Swift and I adore both.

Leave a Reply

