evocative

“I would be most content if my children grew up to be the kind of people who think decorating consists mostly of building enough bookshelves.”   –  Anna Quindlin

 

“A book must be an ice-axe to break the seas frozen inside our soul.” 

–       Franz Kafka

 

“To choose a good book, look in an inquisitor’s prohibited list.” 

–       John Aikin

 

“A house without books is like a room without windows.” 

  –  Heinrich Mann

*

evocative

 

the scent of honey

SUCKle

vines that tried to

cover

the door to

HELL

the drop of sweet

at the end of the stem

 

darkness

with the stench

of daddy’s stale beer,

cigarettes

or grandma’s

white shoulders

cologne

CHILDHOOD

bypass purgatory

going straight to

the flames

 

survival

a word

survival

all about words

the books

a place to hide

the words

my only solace lie

 in musty pages

i learned of

others

their pain

their plight

the fact

i was not

alone

after ALL

My refuge

My refuge

 

 

 

 

bisous,

 

léa

About Léa

A wanderer who has found home in the South of France.
This entry was posted in Childhood and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

28 Responses to evocative

  1. cjm76 says:

    This makes me sad, but it makes me happy too because you’re not alone. With you all the way, you beautiful, brave lady xoxo

    • leamuse says:

      Carly, you are one of the most courageous women I can think of! You are so sweet. If nothing else, I can say to those walking through the fire to keep going as you can get through to the other side. I did! xoxo

  2. cjm76 says:

    Oh, I like what you said very much 🙂 J’adore xoxo

  3. So sad Lea, but so inspiring too, and beautifully expressed.

    I was goingo say “what a beginning” but the beginning lasted all the way through for me. Very powerful words from the depths of you.

    Oh for the solace that books can clothe us in, and words to offer hope and empathy at times when we feel there is nothing and no-one. Survivor and strong and determied with it; that is what I take from this, and hope too. You are amazing 🙂

    My favourite quote here (not that I need to pick one, but I always do!) is the one by Heinrich Mann.

    Love

    Christine xx

    • leamuse says:

      Merci beaucoup Christine! As always, you are kind.

      Books/reading were my life-preserver. Even that was taken frequently. When one is kept isolated, it is often complete. You inspire me all the time.

      I am in trouble if I must ever give a favourite quote! 🙂

      Love,
      Lea xxx

  4. claudia says:

    we didn’t have books in the house when i grew up.. both my parents weren’t much into reading…my refuge was the local library as well… an escape place to learn about that huge and fascinating world outside…

    • cjm76 says:

      Interesting you should say that, Claudia. I didn’t grow up with a lot of books, although my Dad’s an avid reader. The library was my refuge too, and although my parents were incredibly loving, I think because I was so sick and they had so much going on with trying to balance their lives, they forgot about the simple things like books. Thank goodness I was insistent about reading! 🙂

      • leamuse says:

        A dear friend once told me the first thing he notices on visiting someones home is what books are on the shelves. A, I thought, a kindred spirit. 🙂

    • leamuse says:

      I find that interesting. Currently, my home reflects that early desire and there are more books in this house than can be counted… I never leave the house but that there is a book or two in my purse. Thank goodness for small books of poetry!

      • cjm76 says:

        I’m the same! Some people decorate around a lounge suite or art – I decorated my place with and according to my books 🙂 I’m in the process of getting quotes for new bookshelves – so exciting!!!! xo

      • leamuse says:

        With three bedrooms and being on my own, I thought at last I would have my own library. Ha! To paraphrase… My books runneth over! 🙂 xo

  5. cjm76 says:

    I keep getting in trouble for buying books!! Lucky I have a Kindle. Those things re magic when you’re in hospital 🙂

    • leamuse says:

      Absolutely! I can see where Kindle may be a blessing for you. I have my issues but won’t go into them here as I have done it once or twice in my poetry blog… 🙂 xo

  6. belfastdavid says:

    The problem I have with books is that no matter how many bookshelves I have, I always need one more!!!!

    David

  7. beckarooney says:

    My favourite post of yours Lea, beautifully powerful and inspiring. You’re on a roll! 😀 x

  8. cindy knoke says:

    Love them all! Kudos~

Leave a Reply

