dans le sable des mots / in the sand of words

“To see the world in a grain of sand, and to see heaven in a wild flower, hold infinity in the palm of your hands, and eternity in an hour.”   –  William Blake

 

“When words are scarce they are seldom spent in vain.”   –  William Shakespeare

 

“All our words are but crumbs that fall down from the fest of the mind.”   –  Khalil Gibran

*

dans le sable des mots / in the sand of words

my hands plunge deeply

this insatiable quest

finding the right verbs,

adjectives and adverbs

the preposition

which when assembled

like Rubik’s puzzle

lead me to what is missing

yet words like sand are

flexible

capable of embracing

the power of

la mer

or sliding through my

fingers

so strong, she restrains the oceans

 large ships skim

across their surface

she cradles the ravaged

cities swallowed in the

tsunami’s of time

concealing their final

resting place

so delicate

a breeze thrusts them

into oblivion

starfish, shells the

similes and metaphors

dans le sable des mots

*

bisous,

léa

About Léa

A wanderer who has found home in the South of France.
This entry was posted in Commentary, Creativity, Inspiration, Perception, Writing and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to dans le sable des mots / in the sand of words

  1. love the comparisons
    “assembled like Rubik’s puzzle” (that’s so much like writing really is)
    “yet words like sand are flexible capable of embracing the power of la mer”
    Lovely imagey

  2. cindy knoke says:

    I agree love the imagery. Reminds of Richard Burton’s nickname for Elizabeth Taylor, “Ocean.” I thought it beautiful. Cheers to you my friend~

    • leamuse says:

      Cindy, I never knew about the nickname but with my love of the sea would take that as a compliment! Thank you once again for your kind comment and support. 🙂

  3. This is wonderful Lea! Very vivid image and I love the reference to the rubik cube.
    This poem made me want a visit to the coast.

    As always the quotes are great. The first is one of my favourites so thank you for bringing it to mind today.

    I have a small gap of time to catch up on here a little as our visitors have gone off to York for a bit of sightseeing. I am resting 🙂 xxx

    • leamuse says:

      Christine, thank you so much. If you were here, we could go to the coast together as it is only minutes away and stunning!

      I had you in mind when I added that quote from Blake and the reference to the flower makes me think of you.

      Please take care and don’t let the guests wear you out. York was on my list but I never got there… Rest on! 🙂 xxx

  4. claudia says:

    le sable des mots…i like the image much…the hands plunging deeply and that words are flexible like sand…so true… and that’s what i love so much..

Leave a Reply

