splash

“We are tied to the ocean. And when we go back to the sea, whether it is to sail or to watch – we are going back from whence we came.”  

–  John F. Kennedy

 

“The sea, once it casts its spell, holds one in its net of wonder forever.”  

–  Jacques Yves Cousteau

 

“The sea does not reward those who are too anxious, too greedy, or too impatient. One should lie empty, open, choiceless as a beach – waiting for a gift from the sea.”   –  Anne Morrow Lindbergh

 

“The cure for anything is salt water: sweat, tears or the sea.”   –  Isak Dinesen

*

splash

yes

that’s how I’ve always

done it

with a big

SPLASH

head first

then immediately

diving to the bottom again

and again

the waves

have always

picked me back up

set me on my

feet

never one to stick

in a cautious toe

followed by a

hasty retreat

or gradual

wading forth

to do so

would defy

nature

*

bisous,

léa

About Léa

A wanderer who has found home in the South of France.
This entry was posted in Childhood, Commentary, Life, Musings, Perception and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to splash

  1. claudia says:

    splash…head first in…yep…that’s the way how to live life as well me thinks…

  2. Wonderful poem Lea!

    And as I read it I was thinking that I have become a toe dipper since this diagnosis, but since the concert I am now going forth with the big splash!! No more defying nature for me 🙂

    Great quotes of course!

    Love

    Xxx

Leave a Reply

