mots d’une immigré / words of one immigrant

 

“There is no pleasure to me without communication: there is not so much as a sprightly thought comes into my mind that it does not grieve me to have produced alone, and that I have no one to tell it to.”   –  Michel de Montaigne

 

“Communication works for those who work at it.”   –  John Powell

 

 

 

 

mots d’une immigrés

at times

immersion

comes slowly

despite desire

and diving in

head first

i still catch

myself

glancing at

the time

yet

en la belle France

time is not

measured in

minutes, hours

or seconds.

but in kisses

aperos,

discussion

avec des amis

au-dessus d’ un repas

my tongue

trips and

tumbles over

vowels and

consonants

yet

la langue

française

moves stealthily,

silently,

randomly

into my written

voice

*

bisous,

léa

About Léa

A wanderer who has found home in the South of France.
This entry was posted in Commentary, Communication, Education, Inspiration, Life, Relationships and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to mots d’une immigré / words of one immigrant

  1. And very fluently too! What a wonderful poem! I love it. You mix the two languages so well, they just seem to merge into one another quite naturally!

    As ever I love both quotes. I have a lo ely book by John Powell called Happiness is an Inside Job”.

    Our visitors havent arrived yet so I thought I would take the chance to comment now. 🙂

    Love

    Christine

    Xxx

  2. Like Cindy says – lovely. 🙂

  3. claudia says:

    ah nice…i like the french method of time meassuring…so much better than in minutes and hours…

Leave a Reply

