les mots

“If you talk to a man in a language he understands, that goes to his head. If you talk to him in his language, that goes to his heart.”   –  Nelson Mandela

“Language is wine upon the lips.”   –  Virginia Woolf

“French is the language that turns dirt into romance.”   –  Stephen King

“Think like a wise man but communicate in the language of the people.”   –  William Butler Yeats

*

les mots

laughing

at myself

i look over

the poem i

just wrote

mots française caches

creeping into

most every

poem now

unplanned

they come from

a deeper

source

this is where

i belong

*

bisous,

léa

About Léa

A wanderer who has found home and herself in the South of France.
This entry was posted in Communication, Poetry, Relationships, Writing and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to les mots

  1. Lovely poem! And yes, they are finding their way around your work and appear very comfortable.

    I will soon be needing a french/English dictionary! 🙂

    • leamuse says:

      No doubt you are still light-years ahead of my French. However, one of the current projects is to translate my next chapbook into French. The amusing thing is, that some of it is already in French. Do I need to take the original apart and make it all English? 🙂
      It is funny at times. I leave myself notes that are bi-lingual… 🙂 xx

  2. I think if you took the original apart it would take something away from it. In my opinion it stands beautifully. I can totally understand that you leave bilingual notes! You are absorbing he culture into your soul! 🙂 xxx

    • leamuse says:

      You have that right! Honey, France had me at HELLO! or should I say bonjour? 🙂 xxx

      I agree, there are no exact translations and my thinking has totally gone bi-lingual. I laugh at myself when I have to stop and think of a word or something in English! 🙂 xxx

  3. Sounds good to me! 🙂 xxx

  4. How lovely – the melding of the languages. And I also love the King and Woolf quotes particularly.

  5. cindy knoke says:

    Beautiful poem….love the Yeats quote~

  6. claudia says:

    nice…i love when a foreign language becomes a part of yourself…and so laughing about that Stephen King quote…it IS true…smiles

Leave a Reply

