L’ete

“In summer, the song sings itself.”   –  William Carlos Williams

 

“And so with the sunshine and the great bursts of leaves growing on the trees, just as things grow in fast movies, I had that familiar conviction that life was beginning over again with the summer.”   –  F. Scott Fitzgerald

 

 

L’ete

Slowing down my mind

Halt the eternal quest

For tomorrow, next week

Or a favorite holiday

Even before summer’s

Waning begins, the

Yearning for it starts

Anew

*

Learning to delight in

Nuances of each season

Colors of gold, red, yellow

Then brown splashs

Across the vineyards to

Les abres

Soups simmer once again

A late squash-corn chowder,

Black bean or hearty vegetable

Avec pois chiche

*

Le Printemps donne l’espoir

Les fleurs,

Vibrant green leaves

Sur le vigne

Life cycle

Reaffirms herself

Le cadeau de la mere nature

*

Most difficult

Pour moi

Making peace

Avec l’hiver

Taking my breath away

Lodging its chill

Deep in my bones

Even when sunlight bounces

Across a rare snow

Longing takes over

Summer feels so far away

*

Bisous,

Léa

About Léa

A wanderer who has found home in the South of France.
This entry was posted in Commentary, Dark/Light, Inspiration, Life, Musings, Nature, Passion and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to L’ete

  1. claudia says:

    oh the longing can be clearly felt – i like all seasons but as in the quote, summer sings itself– living seems so much more easy…deep sigh… this morning on my bikeride to work there were already autumn fogs spinning across the land…

    • leamuse says:

      Thank you Claudia! It is winter and the cold that have not been able to reconcile with… I do know what you mean, the signs are everywhere.

  2. cindy knoke says:

    Winsome…lovely. My hubby is reading a bio of Zelda that I ordered on my kindle and haven’t gotten to yet. I am hearing a lot about her!!!

    • leamuse says:

      Thank you Cindy! No kindle here but a friend, who has kindle, wants me to put my upcoming collection of poems there. It will be bi-lingual if I can ever finish the job of translating and all written here. Fingers crossed!

  3. This is gorgeous Lea! AndI can relate so much to it!

    The summer here this year has been especially lovely and I have found inspiration in the garden among the flowers and wonderful creatures. So I am not readyto give myself over to winter yet, even autumn for that matter. But this is one area where the Serenity Prayer fits very well. Youvdid manage to make the colder seasons sound attractive, though, with the simmering soups. 🙂

    Love

    Christine

    Xxx

Leave a Reply

