Self portrait

“The ultimate lesson all of us have to learn is unconditional love, which includes not only others but ourselves as well.”   – Elisabeth Kubler-Ross

 

“At the heart of personality is the need to feel a sense of being lovable without having to qualify for that acceptance.”   –  Paul Tournier

*

Self portrait

Sometimes

At the mirror

I can smile

Seeing something new

Something I can

Appreciate

The hair has lost

It’s frizz – not yet grey

But it is the

Kindness that

Sparkles from

Mes yeux

And it is

Spreading

Like branches

Reaching out

Allowing me

At last to

Embrace

Myself

*

Bisous,

Léa

About Léa

A wanderer who has found home and herself in the South of France.
This entry was posted in Changes, Commentary, Life, Moving on, Perception, Relationships and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to Self portrait

  1. safia says:

    Lovely – really felt lucky to have come across this. Thank you.

    • leamuse says:

      Thank you Safia. Your stopping by enabled me to find your blog. I did stop by but will look in again as there is much to see! Merci beaucoup!

  2. solaner says:

    You’re right, Léa.
    The one, who is unable to love hinself/herself, is also unable to love others.
    Don’t look back in anger (on the better times), try to change the future.

    • leamuse says:

      Thank you Solaner. Yes, those who grow-up without love, find it so hard and often the most difficult one to learn is love of self.

  3. Oh this is a gorgeous poem Lea. I love the idea of kindness spreading like branches around your eyes (laughter lines?)

    It took years for me to learn to love myself after the active alcoholism, and feel loveable from othes’ points of view too, but I arrived eventually. And I now admire my “branches” too. A wonderful analogy and poem.

    Love

    Christine

    Xxx

    • leamuse says:

      Christine, you always make my day! Perhaps you are right about the laugh lines? I hadn’t thought about it that way.

      Like a number of these poems, some of it was personal and come was from observances or were offered from clients in therapy. It doesn’t really matter as so many of us were loaded down with cruel indictments and outright lies that we carried around for way to long.

      Love,

      Lea

      Xxx

      • It is good to know you are carrying much lighter weights now. You have come a long way 🙂 We both have in our different ways.

        Xxx

      • leamuse says:

        “A woman is like a tea bag – you can’t tell how strong she is until you put her into hot water.” – Eleanor Roosevelt

        A few people along the way, later years, would comment on my strength. I couldn’t see it. Now I am seeing what a “tough old bird” I am! 🙂

        XxXx

  4. belfastdavid says:

    Self Love is the starting point from which all recovery begins.

    Sometimes we have to act as if, but that in itself is an act of self love! 🙂

    David

    • leamuse says:

      Absolutely David! And it doesn’t have to be a substance that one needs to recover from.

      It’s lovely to hear from you. 🙂

      Léa

  5. cindy knoke says:

    Well, its about time you embraced yourself my friend. Everyone else with an ounce of sense already has!! Especially me!! Cheers to you my talented friend~

  6. Sue Vincent says:

    You are right, Léa… it is something we must all do sooner or later.

Leave a Reply

