Ces mains

“As you grow older, you will discover that you have two hands, one for helping yourself, the other for helping others.”   –  Audrey Hepburn

 

“The final forming of a person’s character lies in their own hands.”  

–  Anne Frank

“Often the hands will solve a mystery that the intellect has struggled with in vain.”   –  Carl Jung

*

Ces mains

These hands

Often struck

With yardstick

Brosse de cheveux

Or any other

Weapon of war

*

Ces mains

Learned that they

Were best kept

Out of the way

Out of danger

*

Ces mains

Learned that

Other hands needed

Holding

Frail hands

Confused hands

*

These hands

Eagerly reaching out

To those in want

Or need

Finding hands to hold

Or guide

*

These hands

Never raised in

Anger

These hands

Gentle

Kind

*

Ces mains

Sont les

Miennes

*

Bisous,

Léa

About Léa

A wanderer who has found home and herself in the South of France.
This entry was posted in Changes, Childhood, Commentary, Communication, Life, Moving on, Musings, Passion, Perception, Poetry, Relationships and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to Ces mains

  1. This is borh melancholy and beautiful Lea.

    Your kind hands reflect your soul.

    My favourite quote is the third one 😊

    Love

    Christine

    Xxx

    • leamuse says:

      Merci beaucoup dear friend! I hope one of the poems I wrote this morning works as well. It is kind of a “birthday card” on the anniversary of my arrival in France and the real beginning of everything. As always, I am glad you enjoyed one of the quotes! 🙂

      Love,

      Lea

      xxX

  2. Ah, you posted two, I didnt realise. I can only see this one. I just qnswered your email and said Ive commented but you must havebeen referring to another one.
    Life becomes complicated! 🙂

    Love

    Xxx

    • leamuse says:

      No, only the one post today. The other poem will be on my Anniversaire! 31, Octobre! 🙂 Sorry for the mix-up! 🙂

      Love,

      xxX

  3. Ah! It’s me; I can be a bit dim! Although Janette has bern here all day with little Theo and baby Solomon. Enough said! I thoroughly enjoyed it though and Solomon had a lovely conversation with me – he is now 11 weeks old 😊 xx

    • leamuse says:

      11 weeks, as much as that! No doubt he imparted great wisdom! 🙂 Actually, we would be much better off if we actually listened to the children. 🙂 xxx

      • I saw this quote recently

        “We spend the first year of a child’s life teaching it to walk and talk and the rest of its life to shut up and sit down. There’s something wrong there.”

        ― Neil deGrasse Tyson

      • leamuse says:

        Yes!

        If we got on the same level with a small child, we might see what we are doing to this planet! Things a child would not do on its own.

  4. claudia says:

    “The final forming of a person’s character lies in their own hands.”… you know i’m over and over amazed at the wisdom of this young girl… and love where you went from this… we can do so much good with our hands… be a blessing for others…

  5. cindy knoke says:

    You are beautiful Lea and so is this poem! Cheers to you my friend~

    • leamuse says:

      Thank you Cindy. As you well know our hands can be instruments of pain or healing. We have a choice to make. At an early age, I didn’t know much, only that I did not want to be like my mother or others along the way.

  6. Hands… such expressive things, one way or another. I like the reflective tone here Lea.

  7. Sheila says:

    Beautiful! For some reason, this made me think of the novel A Tree Grows in Brooklyn – especially those first few lines and then going on to feel compassion for others.

    • leamuse says:

      Now I shall have to read the book. Many years ago, I saw a few minutes of a very old film by that name. Perhaps it is the same? If only you knew just how long that reading list is! 🙂 Glad you enjoyed the poem and thanks for commenting.

      • Sheila says:

        It’s probably the same because the book is a pretty old one. It was written in the 1940s but it seems like it’s even older because the time period it covers is the early 1900s. I know – my list is too long too!

      • leamuse says:

        Regardless of the length, I always appreciate a good referral! 🙂 Merci beaucoup!

Leave a Reply

