Luscious

 “I generally avoid temptation unless I can’t resist it.”   –  Mae West

“If I can’t have too many truffles, I’ll do without truffles.”  

– Sidonie Gabrielle Colette

“Too much of a good thing can be wonderful.”   –  Mae West

***

Luscious

First there is the amazing softness

 Tantalizing flesh

Speculation – the juicy sweetness

As the surface yields to my attention

I sing delirious odes to freshness

Ecstatic sensation tantalizing each tastebud

Anticipation – you tease

Perpetual temptation

Ripening in the sun

I remain

Lusting after fruits

Not yet in season

***

Bisous,

Léa

About Léa

A wanderer who has found home in the South of France.
This entry was posted in Food, Writing and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

20 Responses to Luscious

  1. Wonderful Lea! You have got my tastebuds going too! And as always, the terrific quotes!!

    Love
    xxx

  2. Lustfully lovely…Mae West would be proud !

  3. Lea this poem enriches the senses and has me wishing for warm sun as we move into the colder months here and the fruit dries up.

    • leamuse says:

      Get in your tele-porter and head this way as the local markets (not the indoor type) are bursting with goodness!
      My mouth waters in anticipation. 🙂

      • Lea Sounds wonderful, make sure you get pictures I would love a walk through your local markets.

      • leamuse says:

        The camera is resting up for the work that lay ahead and I just came up with the title for the chapbook I am working on. Unfortunately, I am technically challenged and never did the desktop publishing myself…

  4. Love this! I’ve always seen this version of Mae West’s quote: “I can resist everything but temptation.” It was one of my mother’s favorites and she had a refrigerator magnet with those words on it.

  5. claudia says:

    hmmm…nothing better than fresh and sun-warm fruits… i cannot wait… it is a temptation i cannot and want not resist…

  6. claudia says:

    happy 1st of may!! smiles

  7. beckarooney says:

    Ooh this is delightful Lea! My tastebuds are tingling now 😀

    • leamuse says:

      Thank you Becka! While I adore most fruits, I prefer to wait until they are truly in season and don’t want strawberries or… that have been brought here from Spain or anywhere else. Fully ripened local fruits are worth waiting for. 🙂 Léa

      • beckarooney says:

        I agree you with wholeheartedly! I hate going into a supermarket and seeing food that isn’t in season in England which has been flown halfway round the world and has no flavour. Nature has seasons for a reason! 🙂 xx

      • leamuse says:

        Absolutely! 🙂 xxx

Leave a Reply

