Curriculum vitae

“The first thing I do in the morning is brush my teeth and sharpen my tongue.”   – Dorothy Parker

 

 

Curriculum vitae

 

Darkness

Orchestrates

Rhythm

Opalescent shadows

Tirades soaked in gin

Hardened by life

Yichus

 *

Particular

Acidic

Razorsharp wit

Keen

Emboldened

Resumé

 ***

Bisous,

 

Léa

About Léa

A wanderer who has found home in the South of France.
This entry was posted in Commentary and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Curriculum vitae

  1. This is wonderful Lea! I just love Dorothy Parker; so clever. And this particular quote is fabulous! xxx

  2. beckarooney says:

    What a perfect post! The poem is a wonderful acrostic, the quote made me smile too. I will remember it when I brush my teeth in the morning! 🙂 xx

  3. claudia says:

    to be honest.. i’m not familiar with her but after reading your poem, i think i def. should check her out

  4. Love the poem Lea and laughed out loud at the quote, indeed somedays when we attempt to battle the day ahead we do need to sharpen our tongues. Ah to be so witty, I usually stumble through my words.

    • leamuse says:

      Kath, I know what you mean about Dorothy. I have enjoyed her poetry for some time. I understand her reviews for the press were scathing! I picked up her short stories but was disappointed.
      I hate speaking and have always preferred to write things out. I can trip over my tongue all too often. I don’t have a sharp tongue but a poison pen when necessary. 🙂

    • leamuse says:

      Thank you so much Holly. You know I love her sharp tongue it goes so well with her poison pen… I can only aspire! 🙂

      In the States, Amtrack is the large rail system. They have started a free ride for writer’s called Writer’s Residency Program. Here is a link: http://blog.amtrak.com/amtrakresidency/ How cool is that? Wouldn’t it be lovely if the rail systems in Europe would do this? Imagine, it all came from a twitter campaign started by a few writers engaging Amtrack.

Leave a Reply

