The other side of the story…

“Time spent with cats is never wasted.”   –  Sigmund Freud

“There are two means of refuge from the miseries of life: music and cats.”   –  Albert Schweitzer

“In ancient times cats were worshiped as gods; they have not forgotten this.”  – Terry Pratchett 

*

The other side of the story…

In my next life

I shall be a cat

Warm and soft

I will prowl with determination

My courage like my curiosity, insatiable

I explore what interests me

And ignore what does not

My throne by the window

Where I survey my kingdom

Bathing and preening

To my own satisfaction

              *

I will choose my staff carefully

And train them well

My dishes never empty

Fresh salmon on demand

To appease your human ego

I will let you think it was your idea

I curled up in your lap

That stormy night

Easing your trembling fears

With the silky tingle of my

Glorious coat

*

When alone, you pull me close

Dousing my fur with your tears

Convinced you are not alone

As I am there

When really, it just felt so good

That scratching behind the ear

Without having to move from

This warm perch

*

You fancy that I speak to you

With my melodic purr

Little do you know

I prefer my erotic tone

To your static noise

I know how to quiet you

To calm you

By letting you focus

On adoring me

As it should be

For I pull you out of yourself

–  five cents, the doctor is in

*

Bisous,

Léa

About Léa

A wanderer who has found home in the South of France.
This entry was posted in Cats and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

31 Responses to The other side of the story…

  1. Oh I simply adore this poem Lea!! Its just my kind of thing and reminds me a little of the poem in my book Upstairs, Downstairs. You have described our feline friends perfectly! And as always, the quotes are great. I particularly love the Terry Pratchett one 😊

    Love
    xxx

    • leamuse says:

      Merci beaucoup Christine! It is sad to imagine life without our feline friends. As always I love a good quote but why stop with one?

      Love

      xxx

  2. Keep the quotes coming; I love them! xxx

  3. Very much enjoying this as I sit here with a coffee mug that says: “books, cats….life is good…”

  4. LOVE LOVE LOVE this!!! Permission to post it (with your name as author, of course!) on my Facebook wall? Lea, this is brilliant.

    • leamuse says:

      Please feel free to do so and perhaps include a link back to the blog if you wouldn’t mind?
      Actually, I thought about you when I decided to post it. I’m not on facebook but if you are on linked in you can find me there… 🙂 Merci beaucoup! 🙂

  5. beckarooney says:

    Spot on Lea!! You know how crazy I am about cats 😉 this was a delightful read, love the Sigmund Freud quote the best! xx

  6. claudia says:

    smiles… love the quotes – cats def. have this aura of queens and kings and majesty to them – and their own mind as well…

  7. Lea that was a sweet as a purring kitten Thank you.

  8. Robert Sinclair says:

    I absolutly love it. This is so the Feline perspective.

  9. This is so lovely and arch, Lea. And obvioulsy you know your cats. I too would like to come back as one.
    (ps. Can you tell I’m catching up on my fave pages here?)

    • leamuse says:

      Holly, what an honour to be among your fave pages… I do understand as I seem to be getting more and more behind. Of course all this glorious weather doesn’t do much for staying in at the computer.
      While it is always a pleasure to hear from you it is your posts I miss most! Even when I am behind, your poems are the ones I go back to and re-read… 🙂

Leave a Reply

