The invisibility of illness

Please meet Carly Jay. She is the most courageous young woman I know. She doesn’t mince words and has something important to say, always!

bruises you can touch

Cystic Fibrosis is an often invisible dis-ease. Because my body is working as it should be right now, I’m not underweight as I was pre-transplant. Weighing 38kg was certainly not invisible, and it came with stares and whispers of anorexia and bulimia. I know people who suffer from eating disorders and would never say, ‘if only it was that simple.’ Because it’s not. It never is.

That’s not to say my body is free from the ravages of C.F. Even after transplant, I STILL have C.F. There is no cure. I’m buying time – coming up sixteen years in August, and I’m so bone achingly grateful for my donor and her family. We all have scars. Some are visible; others are seemingly silent and buried like a restless river before the bank bursts.

I am a quilt. My upper chest is a patchwork of scars from CV lines, port-a-caths, chest drains, my transplant…

View original post 675 more words

About Léa

A wanderer who has found home in the South of France.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to The invisibility of illness

  1. Very inspirational Lea, thank you for sharing this

    Love

    xxx

    • leamuse says:

      Carly Jay is an amazing young woman who I am proud to call a friend. Like you, she never fails to inspire me with her courage. She is also an amazing writer, poet… I hope others will check out her blog and go back into some of her amazing poems and other work. Love xxx

  2. cjm76 says:

    Thank you so much for reblogging, Lea 🙂 I’m so appreciative xoxo

    • leamuse says:

      Thank you for sharing so much of yourself. You inspire me more than you can imagine. BTW, I sent you an email that was inspired by your post. Unfortunately, it is a very rough draft at this point. 🙂 xoxo

Leave a Reply

