The shape of my dream is…

“Yes: I am a dreamer. For a dreamer is one who can only find his way by moonlight, and his punishment is that he sees the dawn before the rest of the world.” – Oscar Wilde

 

“Hold fast to dreams, for if dreams die life is a broken-winged bird, that cannot fly.”   – Langston Hughes

 

“I dream my painting and I paint my dream.”   – Vincent van Gogh

 

*

 

The shape of my dream is…

The only constant

Change

Dreaming is

Catching mercury

In my hands

Hanging on to each

Particle

Dreams are like

Time

Suspended vapor

Fluid that rushes forth

Pretends to stand still

Carrying me where

I know not

Chagall-esque

Silhouette of a dream

Ever moving – cloudlike

Le masque

Summons potential

To sleep – perchance

Another dimension

Dreaming

Carnaval de la vie

*

Bisous,

Léa

About Léa

A wanderer who has found home and herself in the South of France.
This entry was posted in Life and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

20 Responses to The shape of my dream is…

  1. This is such a beautifully still poem Lea. And I love “dreaming is catching mercury in my hands”. Just lovely.

    xxx

    • leamuse says:

      Thank you Christine! The challenge was to write, The shape of your dream so I made it mine and took it for a walk… I’m glad you liked it. 🙂 xxx

  2. LOVED it its going in a mental box of my favourites of your poems xxx

  3. claudia says:

    oh i love chagall and his dream-like paintings – and think some of the good painters and poets embedded their dreams into their work and i just love the dimension it adds…

  4. cindy knoke says:

    beautifully composed Lea~

  5. beckarooney says:

    Inspirational writing! Dreams have no end, I love how you captured this Lea. A personal poem to you yet I connected with it completely – beautiful 😀 xx

  6. Lea a wonderful dream of words and wishes. Dreams are wishes until we act on them. I use to be called the dream queen because I had wild and vivid dreams all the time….not so much these days. But life with out dreams would be sad life.

    • leamuse says:

      Yes Kath, a life without dreams is sad. I blocked out my dreams for many years. It was the same dream over and over after losing my daughter. It was survival that blocked them. Today, I have dreams I never could have imagined. Sometimes, they become poems. 😉 x

      • http://mojitoandme.com/about/

        I am sorry about your daughter. (it breaks my heart when I hear of such things) I can understand how this could crush every thing. I have given you a link to a beautiful friend of mine. She lives in Hermanus in south Africa, she is a writer and writes stories of her travels from her boat when they sail around the coast of Europe. Tell Patricia I sent you. Lea you will love her attitude to life and her poetic, descriptive writing. She has lived through some very dark times like you. I know you will become good friends.

      • leamuse says:

        Kath, thank you. It was so very long ago and it was yesterday. Jacqueline died three weeks before her second birthday. No, I don’t think it gets harder than that.
        I did look at Patricia’s blog and left a few messages. I will see if she responds. Thank you for thinking of me. I was surprised at the number of things we do seem to have in common. I enjoy her writing and the title is great! I’m reading Hemingway myself right now. Léa x

      • Lea Im glad you went over. Patricia is an amazing woman as are you. When she writes she paints a vivid picture for her reader. I am so sad for Jacqueline and I know it never gets easier. Im am sure she is by your side always.xxx Precious little angel.

      • leamuse says:

        Kath, please forgive me. I have given you the wrong impression. It does get easier but for me there was a lot of work and a lot of writing to get there. Now, some of the old pain is replaced with sweet little gifts from her. There is a poem I wrote for her and it really helped me understand why I got so depressed when it rained. It is an old post on the poetry blog and titled And the rain fell… xx

  7. Dreaming is so vital. Lovely post.

Leave a Reply

