It’s in the eyes

“There are things known and there are things unknown, and in between are the doors of perception.”   – Aldous Huxley

 

“Miracles happen everyday, change your perception of what a miracle is and you’ll see them all around you.”   – Jon Bon Jovi

 

“It is above all by the imagination that we achieve perception and compassion and hope.”   – Ursula K. Le Guin

 

“Some people think that the truth can be hidden with a little cover-up and decoration. But as time goes by, what is true is revealed, and what is fake fades away.”   – Ismail Haniyeh

It’s in the eyes

I’ve always hated mirrors

They can tell nasty

Lies

How many of us look

As we want to

Individuality

Genetic keystone

Too many faces

Buried in cover-up

But underneath

What is really being

Concealed?

A blemish? Scars?

Or does it go much

Deeper?

One day I had to

Acknowledge the reason

Avoidance

Familial markings

Resemblance

To my abuser

All too real

Cannot be denied

But now I’ve learned to look

Further

Into my eyes

I begin to see the

Sparkle

Of light

That which is

Intrinsic, sets me apart

Splintering the genetic code

Variant, random variable or

In this case deviation?

Roguish, albeit compassionate

Laughter my persistent

Muse

*

Bisous,

Léa

About Léa

A wanderer who has found home in the South of France.
This entry was posted in Perception and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to It’s in the eyes

  1. I really love what you have done with this moving poem Lea!
    “That which is intrinsic,
    sets me apart”

    I think, for me, these two lines encapsulate the whole poem and give it more depth of meaning. Love it!

    Love
    xxx

    • leamuse says:

      Merci beaucoup Christine! Once again you have done it and now my eyes have sprung a leak… 😉
      What sets us apart is what makes us, all, special!
      Love
      xxx

  2. I was shocked the first time I saw my mother in my face, having fought so hard not to be like her, but like you I ‘ve discovered that old saying is true about the eyes and the soul….look deep and you can smile at your own incomparable self….

    • leamuse says:

      I hope that you can feel the sparkle in them. While I have only seen that small photo of you, I believe there is a true twinkle in your eyes! 😉

  3. claudia says:

    it is said that the eyes are a mirror of the soul and i think it’s true… and glad that you found light where there was darkness and those glimpses of hope will spread… love the quotes as well again

    • leamuse says:

      Thank you Claudia. Some of the experiences come from my life but others come from clients I have worked with. Everyone has a journey and stories as you know.

  4. Beautiful Lea, My father often said laughter is the best medicine. A muse of this description indeed. For with out it, we would not get far.

    • leamuse says:

      Kath, I would say your father’s a very smart man and what he said is true. I have been saying that for ever so long. Of course what use would a muse be without a good sense of mischief? 😉

  5. Reading your poem made me realize that lately I have been looking into mirrors (the little I have to) only as I see myself on the surface and not my intrinsic self. For, yes, we all have a unique essence. Lovely.

  6. beckarooney says:

    Yes Lea! I love this! The first thing I notice about a person is their eyes – they hold the story of someone’s life. You’ve captured this wonderfully, a very touching write. The bon jovi quote is my favourite 😀 xx

Leave a Reply

