Once burned…

“Fake people have an image to maintain. Real people just don’t care.”  

–     Author unknown

*

Once burned

You flash a grin

My way

I feel my spine

Relax

Slipping farther

From caution I

Slide under your spell

Memory dishes up

In your favor

I feel confidence

Abandon me

As you close in

That split second

Your head turns

Calculating your options

Gratefully my senses return

Your attentions return

In a flash

Yet a veil has fallen

Your strengths fade to frailty

Sliding irretrievably from

Possibility

The seas are rich

I am patient

And deep

Your shallow waters

Cannot sustain me

*

Bisous,

Léa

About Léa

A wanderer who has found home and herself in the South of France.
This entry was posted in Commentary, Relationships and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Once burned…

  1. Can’t gather the ocean in a thimble…..and once that veil falls, there’s no going back…..

  2. Another extremely powerful piece Lea,. It feels like these poems are very cleansing for you . This becomes more and more powerful as I read and the ending ties it together perfectly. Love xxx

    • leamuse says:

      Merci beaucoup Christine! It is true. I do keep getting stronger. Yet, there are some who are still back there and when I take the words back there, it speaks to them. Love xxx

  3. I admire the way you are working your way through all this, very courageous xxx.

    • leamuse says:

      You are too kind. Honestly, it has been a number of years but there are still those out there who are still struggling and that is who it is for. xxx

  4. claudia says:

    if we know about our own depths those shallow waters def. cannot contain us any longer… sometimes it takes a while until we’re aware of our own strength

    • leamuse says:

      And some of us were slow to learn we were not helpless as we had been programmed. Some never learn. I’ve worked with both and was also a bit on the slow side myself.

  5. I have a good radar for fake people and I might not say anything to anyone else but will be on my guard if I sense a shallow soul around me. Love this piece Lea, very original and clever.

  6. beckarooney says:

    Life is too short to pretend! This was a real, honest, gritty write Lea, I felt like it came from the core of your soul. You have enough guts for ten people! Fabulous piece 🙂 xx

    • leamuse says:

      Merci beaucoup Becka! You are so sweet. Like a well known writer once said, “Writing is easy. I just sit at the typewriter and bleed.” – Ernest Hemingway 🙂 xx

Leave a Reply

