Le Grande Papillon / The Grand Butterfly

“We are like butterflies who flutter for a day and think it is forever.”   – Carl Sagan

 

“We delight in the beauty of the butterfly, but rarely admit the changes it has gone through to achieve that beauty.”   – Maya Angelou

 

“We must remain as close to the flowers, the grass, and the butterflies as the child is who is not yet so much taller than they are. We adults, on the other hand, have outgrown them and have to lower ourselves to stoop down to them. It seems to me that the grass hates us when we confess our love for it. Whoever would partake of all good things must understand how to be small at times.”  

– Friedrich Nietzsche

*

Le Grande Papillon / The Grand Butterfly

Le grande Papillon

Large

As the palm

Of my hand

Your wings

Form a valentine

Heart

Noir etching

Encased thumbprints

Of turquoise

Bold and beautiful

In my eyes

Unique

My hope

You will return

Encore et encore

*

Bisous,

Léa

About Léa

A wanderer who has found home and herself in the South of France.
This entry was posted in Nature and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

27 Responses to Le Grande Papillon / The Grand Butterfly

  1. Do not try to live forever. You will not succeed.

    George Bernard Shaw

  2. Bold and beautiful indeed Lea. I am not sure why this did not make it into my inbox? I will have to check why. Don’t want to miss out.

    • leamuse says:

      Thank you Kath. It was the most amazing butterfly I’ve ever seen. Wouldn’t you know I didn’t have my camera with me. I’ve never seen one so large, somewhat rounded instead of pointy and the colours took my breath away. It has been several years but it pops back into my thoughts from time-to-time.

      • Wow, sounds gorgeous pity about the camera. I am confused. It says Im following this blog, but I cannot find it in my list. Might have to unfollow you and start again.

      • leamuse says:

        Thankfully, your post usually comes directly into my email!
        As for the butterfly, I like to think it is fluttering about in Christine’s garden!

      • Sweet, I just followed again and hope next time your posts will arrive in my inbox and i won’t have to check the reader lol Its a bit glitchy this wordpress thing.

      • leamuse says:

        You mean I’m not the only one with WP issues? I struggle to keep up with the wonderful bloggers so am grateful that the best ones come in directly…

  3. Ah yes…encore, encore….when something is beautiful we want more of it, we want to hold and keep it….yet the paradox of beauty is that it’s very transience is what makes it beautiful…or so wisdom says…

    • leamuse says:

      Beauty is fragile when it is only on the surface. When beauty shines from within, it can last forever. (Okay, so there are some flaws in that but if sounded good at the time.) 🙂

  4. And then there is the particular beauty of flaws… 🙂

  5. Oh Lea, this is exquisite just as the butterfly is. One of my favourites of yours and a definite keeper. I love, love it! xxx

  6. 😊 xxx it is merely geing stored in the notes until … 😊

  7. claudia says:

    oh i just love the turquoise thumbprints – there’s so much beauty in nature around us – in the small things – i hope we never lose that child-like connection and wonder

  8. Polly says:

    This is utterly beautiful – so glad you alerted me to it – I may do as Kath has, above, and unfollow / re follow you as I rely on emails to see those whom I follow and this def didn’t make it into my inbox :/
    The final line is a wonderful emphasis.

    • leamuse says:

      Thank you so much Polly. I don’t know what is going on a WP but I’ve noticed a number of the posts I use to receive has dwindled. Perhaps you and Kath have a solution, at least for now? :-

  9. beckarooney says:

    Beautiful Lea! For me butterflies are the essence of freedom and life – your poem captured those feelings exquisitely. Loved the quotes too 😀 x

Leave a Reply

