Only roses

 

“She turned to the sunlight and shook her yellow head, and whispered to her neighbor: “Winter is dead.” – A.A. Milne

 

“A host of golden daffodils; Beside the lake, beneath the trees, fluttering and dancing in the breeze.” – William Wordsworth

 

Only roses

Only roses

Every year on

Her birthday

Mother sent grandma

Roses

When grandma died

They all sent

Red roses

What grandma

Loved most of all

Were daffodils – connection

Her native Wales

*

When I see

Daffodils

Growing in the ground

In a florist shop

Or even in a picture

I think of grandma

A son

And daughters

Who only did anything

For appearances sake

Feelings never

Mattered

The façade with the

Sincerity of

Plastic roses

*

Bisous,

Léa

About Léa

A wanderer who has found home and herself in the South of France.
This entry was posted in Love and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

24 Responses to Only roses

  1. Lea you keep her memory alive every time you see a daffodil and that is the most important thing. That someone knew what she truly loved. Beautiful.

    • leamuse says:

      Thank you so much Kath. I did love her a great deal. Unfortunately, it was only after she was gone that I saw all of what had been done. She knew I loved her and I am grateful.

      • And she still loves you too and the poem shows that love in its purest form Lea, it is hard when we discover things later. But know she would be by your side always.

      • leamuse says:

        Oh Kath, she was so special to me. I can feel her spirit and the twinkle in her eyes.

      • Lea I never had the pleasure of spending much time with grandparents, they were all gone when I was young. So I longed for that time when others spoke of their experiences. I make it up now by making sure my children get plenty of amazing time with my mum and my husbands parents. They will have happy strong memories and for that I am grateful. Happy day to you.

      • leamuse says:

        Your children are fortunate indeed! My time with this particular grandmother was, for the most part, limited. She lived in Canada. As I got older, I was “sent” up to her to get rid of me. My mother didn’t realise what a favour she was doing for me. Happy day to you!

  2. LadyBlueRose's Thoughts Into Words says:

    beautiful…even in the sadness your words are beautiful…
    each time a daffodil shows up, remember your Grandmother is smiling at you as you remember her…
    Take Care….You Matter…
    )0(
    maryrose

    • leamuse says:

      Thank you Maryrose! I always think of her when I see a daffodil. Most of grandma’s smiles, sparkled from her eyes. I’m told my eyes sparkle like that. 😉 Bisous et calins. Léa

  3. Polly says:

    Poignant and beautiful – lovely writing.

  4. Even lovelier now Ive read it on here Lea. So sad but such a beautifully crafted poem. “Sincerity of plastic roses” is a perfect finish. xxx

    • leamuse says:

      Thank you Christine! It is a sad “family” of people chained together by genetics. I loved my grandmother very much and it hurt to see how things were. Actually, I changed my copy a tiny bit to “Sincerity of a plastic rose.” for any future purposes. xxx

  5. beckarooney says:

    This was so tender and loving it brought a tear to my eye. Beautiful tribute to your grandma Lea – our loved ones stay alive through memories 🙂 xx

    • leamuse says:

      Thank you Becka. She was one of the two people in my “mother’s” family that were not vicious. I adored her and any thoughts of Wales, Daffodils… bring her that much closer. 🙂 xx

      • beckarooney says:

        I can imagine. I hope to share many photos of daffodil season while I’m in Wales, it is a very iconic flower over here 🙂 xx

      • leamuse says:

        I remember a movie “set” in Wales (old black and white) and there were many daffodil. I finally tracked down the book years ago and while different, I enjoyed it. It was How Green Was My Valley. I know it was ancient but it was special for me. 🙂 xx

      • beckarooney says:

        I’ve not heard of that – I’ll have to look it up 🙂 xx

      • leamuse says:

        Let me know if you have any trouble finding it! 🙂 xx

  6. cindy knoke says:

    intense, moving and beautifully done Lea!

Leave a Reply

