Cadeau de la clé / Gift of the key

Thank you Christine over at http://journeyintopoetry.wordpress.com for inspiring this post. Stop in and meet Christine if you are not already following her. Read and be inspired as I am.

*

“We shouldn’t teach great books; we should teach a love of reading.”   – B.F. Skinner

 

“To read is to fly: it is to soar to a point of vantage which gives a view over wide terrains of history, human variety, ideas, shared experience and the fruits of many inquiries.”   – A.C. Grayling

 

“Reading takes us away from home, but more important, it finds homes for us everywhere.”   – Hazel Rochman

 

 

Cadeau de la clé / Gift of the key

 

Children

Intrinsically curious

Insatiable in their

Hunger

Starving to understand

Insatiable curiosity

The mystery about them

This world, people

How things work?

Why they do not work?

What is to become of them?

How do they fit in?

Or not?

 

Give them fuel to feed

The fires of inquisitiveness

Open the door to literature,

History, science, poetry

And all the world of print

Give them the tools

To learn, to explore so that they

One day they can be more

Read to them teach them

Give them the key

Entice them to unlock each

Mystery that beckons and the

Gift that they are never

Alone

 

*

Bisous,

 

Léa

About Léa

A wanderer who has found home in the South of France.
This entry was posted in Education and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Cadeau de la clé / Gift of the key

  1. Oh Lea! This brought tears to my eyes; it’s beautiful. Im so pleased I was able to inspire you to write such a precious poem. I love the way we are able to bounce ideas around us all here in blog land 😊 Love xxx

    • leamuse says:

      Christine, you never fail to inspire me. This last post about Theo brought tears to my eyes. I consider myself most fortunate to have found friends like you, Carley-Jay, Kath and more. Love xxx

  2. Polly says:

    I’m in total agreement with Christine, this is special, and it’s great that you found inspiration in another blogger’s post – Christine’s, in fact 🙂

    • leamuse says:

      Thank you so much Polly. It means a lot coming from you. Christine is an inspirational woman and I like to give credit where it is due! 🙂

  3. claudia says:

    teaching a kid to read… yes.. my world changed when i was able to read and i was traveling the world just by turning the pages of a book.. it is magical

  4. Lea I read to my two munchkins from wee babies and they both are excellent readers now. My daughter has the bookworm in her just like me. Where would I be without a book to read? I would be lost. Happy day to you. I also love reading you and Christine’s conversations on here what a beautiful friendship you have.

    • leamuse says:

      Kath, you give them the world when you read to them and encourage their reading. While that was not available in my family, there were some neighbour girls that thought it would be fun to teach the ‘baby’ on the block how to read. So starved, I ate it up and truly believe that it saved my life. Christine has become a very dear friend and I do cherish this relationship. Her last poem about her grandson, Theo, inspired a children’s poem from me which I sent her. It is a silly rhyme but she seemed to like it. Regardless, it was all in fun.

Leave a Reply

