Where the shadow falls the deepest…

“I only went out for a walk and finally concluded to stay out till sundown, for going out, I found, I was really going in.  –  John Muir  (1838 – 1914)

“The woods are lovely, dark and deep. But I have promises to keep, and miles to go before I sleep.”  

–  Robert Frost

“How strange that Nature does not knock, and yet does not intrude!   –  Emily Dickinson

*

Where the shadow falls the deepest… 

Cool waters run rapid

Needles fall from the pines

Crunching beneath my boots

Fallen trees offer rest

 

Birds serenade sweetly

Sometimes mournfully

Sunlight illuminates

Flitting through branches

 

Nature seems to listen

She collects my tears

Nurturing new growth

Recyclage dans son temps  (Recycled in its  time)

 

 

Her fingers gently caress

With each fragile breath of wind

Her reflection can be found

Dans l’étang de la cascade  (In the pond of the cascade)

 

Be tender – learn her wisdom

Caution where your foot falls

Even the insects have their work

Her rhythm measures my own

 

Sanctuary – she gives freely

It is she who pays the price

Tranquility oft to linger

Là où la chute l’ombre tombe le plus profond (Where the shadow falls the deepest)

*

Bisous,

Léa

About Léa

A wanderer who has found home and herself in the South of France.
This entry was posted in Nature and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Where the shadow falls the deepest…

  1. cindy knoke says:

    Start with Emily, close with Lea. Nirvana~

  2. “Nature seems to listen….” indeed…

  3. This one is close to my heart Lea, You bring me with you into the deepest shadows. Truly inspiring, a rich and vibrant walk with mother nature. At times she is comforting but sometimes she is unappreciated and that makes me sad. My favourite part is this.

    Be tender – learn her wisdom

    Caution where your foot falls

    Even the insects have their work

    Her rhythm measures my own

    I hope this is going in one of your poetry books

  4. Polly says:

    I enjoyed the two languages, a beautiful poem 🙂

  5. Another chance to see and read this gorgeous poem Lea. This is one of my favourites of yours, and I too, like Kath, enjoyed those particular lines. And the quotes – well it goes without saying! 😊

  6. It sounds beautiful, I love the needles crunching beneath your boots xxx

  7. claudia says:

    nature seems to listen… and vice versa… love the gentle rhythm in this…the forest is one of my fav places to go when i need space to breathe and just to be…

Leave a Reply

