Cartography

“You cannot control your own population by force, but it can be distracted by consumption.” – Noam Chomsky

“When fascism comes to America, it will be wrapped in the flag and carrying a cross.”  –  Sinclair Lewis

“International affairs is very much run like the mafia. The godfather does not accept disobedience, even from a small storekeeper who doesn’t pay his protection money. You have to have obedience; otherwise, the idea can spread that you don’t have to listen to the orders, and it can spread to important places.” – Noam Chomsky

“The more you can increase the fear of drugs and crime, welfare mothers, immigrants and aliens, the more you control all the people.”   –  Noam Chomsky

*

Cartography

Countries

Like patchwork quilts

Made up of remnants

Of people, cultures,

Languages, music

Guided by passion

Dictated by gluttony

Frequently altered

By wars, politics

Fostered by greed

Fragmented, disenfranchised,

Reshuffled, with the

Urgency of thieves in flight

Stitched with the threads;

Death, blood, violence

Illusions of patriotism

Become the battle cry

For the disenfranchised

To fight and die

To enrich the elitists

As the oppression increases

The patches fray, weaken,

Disintegrate

It really is

All about Empire

Corporate politicians declaring war

On others as they strip the

Freedoms from their own

And those who dare

To make a difference

Wear the label of traitor

*

Bisous,

Léa

About Léa

A wanderer who has found home and herself in the South of France.
This entry was posted in Commentary and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to Cartography

  1. Great poem Lea and very thought provoking. All said with your ever present passion. xxx

  2. Keep letting it bubble 😊 xxx

  3. Thats a very good thing! Xxx

  4. I can feel the fizz! xxx

  5. Polly says:

    Love the comparison with a patchwork quilt, a simile that really works 🙂 x

  6. Lea, very clever, I am trying to write a poem for my blog for a bit of fun. Sadly I do not have your talent. I love reading poetry it helps me to loosen up when i wish to write. Today Im struggling but reading your work inspires me to keep going.

    • leamuse says:

      Kath, you are so very generous! I’m afraid I really don’t have the skill for crafting poetry or much of anything else. Like one of the masters said, “There is nothing to writing. All you do is sit at the typewriter and bleed.” – Ernest Hemingway
      I must agree. For myself, I possess no skills or talent in writing, something lights a spark somewhere and the words just pour out. I don’t know how it works and am grateful when it does. I’ve not studied poetry or writing so haven’t a clue what I am actually doing. A dear friend who taught writing and poetry told me not to when I wanted to take a course. He said it would spoil what was naturally there. I really don’t have a clue but do appreciate your kindness. With that, I shall finally shut-up! 🙂

      • It pours onto the page like beautiful poetry to me and thats what counts. I admire you and Christine my poetic friends. There is always something that sets my mind a bubbling after reading poetry. Please don’t ever shut-up I love hearing your thoughts Lea.

      • leamuse says:

        Putting it on paper is easy as long as I am not told to open my mouth. I’ve been tongue-tied since birth Kath and while they clipped it shortly after my birth, somethings never seem to change. I know it is deeper but c’est la vie!

  7. claudia says:

    i’m wondering how our countries will look like in a few years – lots of things are changing – more quickly than i think the politicians have expected… it frightens me sometimes and i think it needs a lot of wisdom to stitch the patches into something stable and beautiful

Leave a Reply

