You are what you read…

 

“Every day we should hear at least one little song, read one good poem, see one exquisite picture, and, if possible, speak a few sensible words.”  

  • Johann Wolfgang von Goethe

 

“I must say I find television very educational. The minute somebody turns it on, I go to the library and read a good book.”   – Groucho Marx

 

“I never travel without my diary. One should always have something sensational to read in the train.”   – Oscar Wilde

 

*

 

You are what you read

 

That is what he said

I read it today

On his blog

One of the lines

On his blog post

Re-reading Borges

Caught my attention

Waved that carrot

Of taking a line

For a walk

Across a snowy white sheet

Virginal papers – now splattered

With specks of black – letters

Letters forming words

Tony’s poem puts it out there

You are what you read

I think back to the diet of this year

My summer sustained by

Hemingway – a little light reading

Then on to Sinclair Lewis

Earlier in the year there were

Antoine Saint Exupery

The Little Prince – resplendent

En français et anglais

Speaking to me in my

Annual reading of each

Jasper Fforde for humor

There is always a generous

Helping of poetry on the menu

Baudelaire, Paul Éluard, en français

Recently discovered, Serge Roy

With a generous helping

Of Dorothy Parker and Neruda,

Razor sharp wit and passion

Books about writing – reminding

Me, to just write

Journal of a Swedish ancestor

Crossing the plains circa 1890’s

The book thief, several memoirs

Biographies of the great and everyday people

Tony, it is just as you say

You are what you read

About Léa

A wanderer who has found home and herself in the South of France.
This entry was posted in Books and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to You are what you read…

  1. Great Lea! And what a list; you have had a wonderful infusion of words over the year! And your poem is proof we can write about anything if we put our minds and hearts into it. Needless to say, the quotes are fabulous. I particularly like the first one; that would make ror a perfect day. 😊 xxx

  2. Thought provoking, Lea….and of course Oscar Wilde always lifts my spirits (there’s something about his and Dorothy Parker’s wit that always clears the air!)
    Now I’m thinking about people who don’t, or hardly, read at all….are they nothing?

    • leamuse says:

      They are both a treat and very medicinal. I think one should read from one or the other most every day! 😉
      I would never insinuate that anyone is “nothing”. Yet I believe what we read tells something about us. Of course, there are also the thousands of books in those piles waiting to be read… :))

  3. Yes..what we wish to become… 🙂

  4. claudia says:

    oh i have to re-read The Little Prince … love that book
    the last real book i read was the book thief
    started the dirty havana trilogy by recomendation of a blogger friend but that’s not such an easy read – seems to be very authentic – yet i just don’t find the time and calm at the moment to sit down and read… sigh

    • leamuse says:

      I enjoyed the book thief but haven’t heard of the dirty havana trilogy… you do stir up trouble! The kind I love. Merci beaucoup.
      I love Le petit prince!
      So many good books…

  5. I am reading a certain poet I know. I purchased her book of poetry this morning and so far I am loving it Lea. Reality is Relative is a beautiful book and you should be so proud.

    • leamuse says:

      Oh, so you are the one! Just kidding but it is ever so slow. Thank you Kath, you are so kind. I am anxious to get the new book out. I finished it some time ago but there are things I must wait on… c’est la vie! (That is for Willow) 😉
      The next collection was all written here and much more positive! xx

  6. Polly says:

    Loving the Wilde quote–naughty but nice–smashing poem 🙂

  7. beckarooney says:

    Excellent poem! We are indeed what we read. I find it very theraputic to switch off after a long day by reading, I would have gone insane long ago otherwise – lol 😉 the day is always made better by an Oscar Wilde quote, my favourite! Great post Lea xx

Leave a Reply

