At what age is privacy a right? a voice silenced

Write, write, write. It can save your life. You don’t need lessons, just pour out your thoughts and your pain. But only when it is safe to do so. 

*

What man art thou that, thus bescreened in night, so stumblest on my counsel?” – William Shakespeare

Privacy is not something that I’m merely entitled to, it’s an absolute prerequisite. – Marlon Brando

*

At what age is privacy a right? a voice silenced

Years ago

I saw a painting

the rolling stone

of damnation 

the agony

of the wicked

said to be

eternal

I heard the story

but knew

I had been there

before

*

like childhood

the pain – eternal

escape beyond reach

attempts to record –

purged, destroyed 

that was before

marriage

from the frying pan

to the inferno

from there it

became worse

he too a victim

his choices were

different

i remained silent

*

there is nothing

that can prepare you

for the death of a child

they say the loss of a spouse

comes close

but I was the one to run

from him – yet I

rendered silent

no one – no where

to confide

*

decades of pain lodged deep

its daggers

surfacing briefly

clawing at the heart

tearing the eyes

haunting dreams

exorcism futile

until all dreams vanish

*

reclamation

can be found even

when we think we

are not looking

with hope discarded

mine came from

pen and paper

slowly, guardedly

at first a cautious

re-introduction

cached from critical eyes

*

floodgates ruptured

denial of the past

no longer buried

writing the crucial key

long ago abandoned

 confession at ones peril

without the sanctity of

confidentiality

the words are mine

words – sacrosanct

freedom – unconditional

now – with conviction

my words flow free

*

bisous,

léa 

About Léa

A wanderer who has found home and herself in the South of France.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized, Writing and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to At what age is privacy a right? a voice silenced

  1. solaner says:

    hard stuff – one has to think about it carefully. let the message settling and riping. finally, it’s true, although several parts seem to be very personal (you’re own experience? ) to me.

    You don’t need to answer, Léa. It’s simply a write down of my feelings, when reading the text.

  2. Eileen says:

    Lea, I will copy this for a friend who very late in life is writing her way to freedom and healing also. She doesn’t have a computers so, though I will share this on face book, I’ll need to print it for her.
    You have described the hell and healing so well that I know many will identify with you and be strengthened by knowing that not only are they not alone, they have a beautiful articulate courageous voice speaking what is in their soul for them. God bless you!

    • Léa says:

      Merci beaucoup mon amie!
      Eileen, please know I appreciate your kind support and I’ve no doubt your friend does as well. If you like, tell her I am on her side and know she can do it! xx

  3. Eileen says:

    Reblogged this on Laughter: Carbonated Grace and commented:
    Lea gives many silent victims an articulate courageous voice. Bless you, Lea.

  4. This is such a powerful piece Lea, I am quite lost for words, except to say you have a talent for capturing a lifetime of feeling in one poem. Wonderfully written and I am certain your words sI’ll reach out to many. Love xxx

    • Léa says:

      Christine, your ongoing support means so much. I can only say ‘write’ what pours out onto the keyboard. Usually when I write such pieces, there is less viewing, comments… there are things people don’t like to think about. Regardless, if it says something to someone who has been or is on that path, to me it is all I could ask for. Love xxx

  5. Lea, even though this must have been hard to write, its a piece of you thats worth sharing. So many can resonate. You have such a gift.

    • Léa says:

      Kath, you are a dear. Having been a therapist and worked in Child Protection, I am all too aware of how many are out there. However, most don’t want to be reminded we exist and many of the readers just pass it by. Never the less, I shall say it for those who are open. Thank you for your support.

  6. claudia says:

    i think that those that had tough times in their lives can help others that go through difficult times. it is wonderful when writing down our experiences and emotions helps both – us and others – for me writing is much of an outlet for my emotions and also to process life with everything it holds…

    • Léa says:

      When the writing was taken away, the thing that saved me was being able to focus on others. They saved me. The writing came back and allowed the healing. I’ve worked with a number of survivors who now write. First and foremost they must be safe to do so. Not everyone is.

Leave a Reply

