blocked

“Ideas may drift into other minds, but they do not drift my way.
I have to go and fetch them. I know no work manual or mental to equal the
appalling heart-breaking anguish of fetching an idea from nowhere.”

– A. A. Milne

“When asked , ‘how do you write?’ I invariably answer ‘one word at a time.”                                                     – Stephen King

blocked

will tortured lines appear
stuttering fingers tremble across
the keyboard
an exercise in hit and miss
the empty mind hopes
perhaps the laws of probability
would be kind
smiling in verse

fingers shudder, spasm and freeze
from a distance, grey matter bounces
thought and metaphor
till they coagulate
in cerebral jelly
synapse arrested
white pages glare
laughingly at me

Bisous,

Léa

About Léa

A wanderer who has found home in the South of France.
This entry was posted in Writing and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to blocked

  1. But here are your words!! And fabulous they are too.

    I know exactly what you mean here though Lea. Since falling I have been totally unable to write anything despite all this time on my hand while recovering. I have tried but it has all been binned. My latest poem was written just before I fell. It’s an unpleasant feeling which I can’t easily describe in words. Maybe sometimes we just need the break, I have no idea why! My writing tutor says if he hasn’t been able to write for just a week he panics that he has lost it and can’t write anymore.

    I love the quotes, especially the A A Milne one xxx

  2. Awesome message which addresses a truth which happens to us all. i love it Lea…God bless!

  3. Eileen says:

    Reflections on Writer’s Block 1991

    Memories collide with one another,.
    congesting into higgley-piggley log jams
    in my racing mind.
    Complexity clutters my understanding
    and confusions of cobwebs cling
    to my bold broken dreams.
    Creativity thickens and congeals,
    dwindling into small fallow pools
    clotted with frustration.
    So, in this present moment
    I must trust my inner spirit
    to transform even this suffering,
    with a woman’s powerful compassion
    that can turn empty hearts
    to deserts fertile from her tears.

    Someone once told me to write about writer’s block when suffering it.
    So, when in doubt, write it out!

    • Eileen says:

      Good to see you posting again and writing your way out of writer’s block, Lea.

      • Léa says:

        Eileen, sorry to say, it is not writer’s block that has kept me silent but personal issues I wasn’t blogging about. I’m not blocked at all!

  4. claudia says:

    one word at a time – i like that – when jean-michel basquiat was asked once how he paints he said: i add things and i remove things – i like that one step after the other approach. i usually only start to write when i have a first line in my head – only then i sit at my computer. if i sit there staring at an empty page it freaks me out

  5. Eileen says:

    sorry, lea. hope things are improving.

  6. Polly says:

    How well you describe the awfulness of such a feeling – nice one Léa 🙂

  7. Simply beautiful and brilliant Lea.

  8. John (Jack) McClintock says:

    Everything that’s forced, looks forced. Poetry flows, without effort. It’s the editing that requires effort… ideas always fend for themselves. Mad jack

    John (Jack) McClintock jmcclim699@aol.com

  9. Su says:

    WOW That really hits the soul. Happy Birthday month LJM

Leave a Reply

