Just the facts…

Consistency is the last refuge of the unimaginative.
– Oscar Wilde

Just the facts…

You are the brightest point of the candles flame

The dandelions in my clover

The first bite of cheesecake

And the solstice of my summer

*

You are the oasis I’ve searched for In my forty years wandering

The checkered flag and hurrahs

At the finish line

You will never be the chip in my teacup

The croutons in my salad

Nor a frog croaking by the pond

*

And you are not the stapler on my desk

You are the warmth of the fire

Chasing away my chill

And the conductor of the symphony

Spilling from my harp strings

*

Perhaps you are the lavender sachet

Tucked beneath my pillow – scenting my dreams

The rhubarb in my pie

And the vibrant oils layered on my canvas

*

Did you realize that I am the foam

Riding the crashing waves, spilling across your rocks,

Pilings and coastlines

the chocolate in your milk

And the peanut butter for your jelly

*

I am the wick for your lantern

The molasses in the gingerbread; full, thickly sweet

With a kick

And the firefly when you lose your way

*

But more than all of this

I will be the suede patch on the sleeve

Of your tweed coat

Hoisting a pint at the Everyman Bistro near

The Mercy River while Beatles on the jukebox take you back in time

I will be the Eleanor Rigby of your memories

Bisous,

Léa

About Léa

A wanderer who has found home in the South of France.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to Just the facts…

  1. Rob Sinclair says:

    Mmmm. Penut butter & Jelly. He he.

  2. cjm76 says:

    Oh, the possibilities! Now I want some gingerbread … XO

  3. claudia says:

    such beautiful images… being so much to the other and the other so much to you… how special is that

  4. This is such a fantastic poem Lea! I love it, every word! So clever, especially how you end it. Brilliant! 😄 Xxx

  5. Polly says:

    Smashing poem, my fave lines ‘…you are the lavender sachet / Tucked beneath my pillow…’ lovely 🙂

  6. glendadoodle says:

    This is a gorgeous poem Léa. I loved it – the relationship to and fro, and fro and to, and a glorious finale. Thanks 🙂

  7. Gorgeous bunch of words Lea. My favourite line

    And the firefly when you lose your way

    I have always wanted to see a firefly.
    I love how your mind works. Have a great day.

Leave a Reply

