Untitled

Writing is like driving at night in the fog. You can only see as far as your headlights, but you can make the whole trip that way.” – E.L. Doctorow

I get intrigued by a first line and I write to find out why it means something to me. You make discoveries just the way the reader does, so you’re simultaneously the writer and the reader.”                     – E.L. Doctorow

*

Untitled

No

it isn’t like that

not at all

I never set out

to create an

unwanted, unloved

poem

one that would

not be named

it just doesn’t work

that way

I don’t write

a title

for a poem

that grows out

from that name

but let a series

of words take me

on the journey

they have in mind

when they are ready

the words have voice

will tell me who

they are

where they are

leading me

I remain

their humble

servant

*

Bisous,

Léa

About Léa

A wanderer who has found home in the South of France.
This entry was posted in Books, Humor, Inspiration, Writers, Writing and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Untitled

  1. I love this Lea, and I find it all so true!! Beautifully said and appropriately titled ‘Untitled’. xxx

    • Léa says:

      Merci Christine! You do know that those pesky words have minds of their own. I just am along for the ride… 😉 xxx

  2. glendadoodle says:

    Thanks for this. It’s natural and honest, vibrant with understanding. Love it.

  3. journalread says:

    So…the title of this poem is ‘Their Humble Servant’ heh-heh 🙂 Nice one Léa x

  4. Love how it seemed to spill fourth Lea like it had a mind of its own.

  5. claudia says:

    oh yes – they def. have their own mind… and can be so unpredictable.. i’m never exactly sure as well when i start writing.. and the title comes usually last

  6. beckarooney says:

    So true! Words take us for a walk. . . love this Lea 😀 xx

Leave a Reply

