Why I’m NOT sorry

Here she is, CARLY-JAY METCALFE saying as it is!

bruises you can touch

Today, my friend – the other Carly, Carly Findlay – wrote a shut up amazing piece about apologising and how she no longer wants to apologise for what is beyond her control. Shortly after reading Carly’s piece, I saw the photo Annie Leibovitz took of Amy Schumer in all of her near-naked and non-apologetic glory. I wrote the following on my chasing away salt water page:

I am loving this photograph of Amy Schumer by Annie Leibovitz for the 2016 Pirelli calendar. Beautiful and real, replete with her natural curves and belly. Amy writes on her Twitter account – ‘Beautiful, gross, strong, thin, fat, pretty, ugly, sexy, disgusting, flawless, woman. Thank you.’ No Amy, THANK YOU. 

As a woman with Cystic Fibrosis, I’ve always had a belly (even at 38kg) that I’ve been embarrassed about. Why? Media and the way women (who have won the genetic lottery) are portrayed are partly accountable. Compare…

View original post 1,270 more words

About Léa

A wanderer who has found home and herself in the South of France.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Why I’m NOT sorry

  1. Manuel Rodriguez says:

    Great post. how are you doing. I love your new work. You truely write from your soul. Take care dear friend and remember i will always be here for you and love you. My brain is not getting the getting the oxgen it needs and forgetting alot. Same thing my mom had gee thank mom for handing it down to me. Any way i love you and i am so proud of your life and have fun every day. Hugs Su

    Love, Joy & Magic always Su   Woman are Angels ! if someone breaks our wings, we simply   continue to fly …. on our broomsticks

    • Léa says:

      Su your mom was a dear and I shall always carry fond memories of her. We all must live with our genetic make-up and even if we were dealt some of the good, there could always be some of the darker recessive genes that wait to strike. Some get lucky. It saddens me to think of the obstacles you are facing and wish that you were not so far away so that I could reach out more. Hugs Léa

    • Léa says:

      By the way, the article you loved so much was not by me but by the Fabulous Carly-Jay Metcalfe an amazing woman and one I am proud to call my friend. If only she didn’t live so far away. 😦

Leave a Reply

