Profond dans ses poèmes

As introduction to the following poem, I will tell you of a gift from my dear friend Yvonne in London. For the holidays she presented me with a copy of Les Fleurs Du Mal (Flowers of Evil) by Charles Baudelaire. With it she gave me a challenge to begin writing poems in French. Within the first poem or two, I was hooked. If you have not read any of his work, I encourage you to try. Translations of his work are available. Some may find it strange but as I began writing this piece, it came out bilingually. I present you with the original and again in English.

“Any healthy man can go without food for two days-but not without poetry.”  –  Charles Baudelaire

“The poet enjoys the incomparable privilege of being able to be himself and others as he wishes.”  

                                                                        –  Charles Baudelaire

“Genius is childhood recalled at will.”  –  Charles Baudelaire

*** 

Profond dans ses poèmes  (Original)

Amélioration de mon français

With a little help from a

Friend

Un cadeau pour noël

I am falling in love

Avec l’homme

Baudelaire

Snuggled up

Near the fire

Losing myself

Profond dans ses poèmes

Planting his perennial seeds

Les fleurs du mal

Dans

les pétales de vers

Blossom

Scenting tongue and

Pen

Avec l’odeur de ses mots

My persistent muse

***

(In English)

Deep in his poems

 

Improving my French

With a little help from a

Friend

A Christmas gift

I am falling in

Love

With the man

Baudelaire

Snuggled up

Near the fire

Losing myself

Deep in his poems

Planting his perennial seeds

Flowers of Evil

In

Petals of verse

Blossom

Scenting tongue and

Pen

With the fragrance of his words

My persistent

Muse

***

Bisous,

Léa

About Léa

A wanderer who has found home in the South of France.
This entry was posted in Inspiration and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Profond dans ses poèmes

  1. This is such a beautiful poem Lea!

    Your french is much better than mine will ever be!

    Love

    Christine. Xxxxx

    • leamuse says:

      Thank you Christine. Actually, there are three French dictionaries within easy reach not to mention all that is available on the internet so it often involves stopping to look up a word here, there and perhaps everywhere. 🙂

      Love,
      Lea XXxxX

  2. cindy knoke says:

    Wonderful post Lea!! Your French is great & the quote selections perfect. Cheers to you!

  3. claudia says:

    nice..it’s cool to get lost in a poet’s work…really have to check him out…love the quotes by him..esp. the first one made me smile..

  4. Pingback: Le beau est toujours bizarre | One quality, the finest.

Leave a Reply

