Men I Know

Merci beaucoup Tony!

Dark Matter

Originally posted 9/28/2013.

A man I know
calls his preferred
prospective partners
“chicklettes.”
Because they’re young,
young and sweet,
he says.
Because of their fragile shells,
he says.
Because he spits them out
when the flavor’s gone,
he says.

This other man I know
has jokes up the wazoo
about women, about
“how they are.”
Because that’s just
letting off steam,
he says.
Because of the need for a break
in the battle between us,
he says.
Because it’s better than shooting them,
he says, 
and laughs.

This other man I know
likes to stick his elbow into me
whenever he pretends he’s down
for women where we work.
Because they think I mean it,
he says.
Because as men we know the score,
he says.
Because, anyway, where were we before they talked?
he says.

Other men I know lose track
of bedmate headcount.
Other men keep track,
notch…

View original post 122 more words

About Léa

A wanderer who has found home and herself in the South of France.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Men I Know

  1. glendadoodle says:

    Oh, Léa, what a poem, genuine, hitting home like a bullet.x x.

    • Léa says:

      I’ve reblogged Tony’s work a number of times. I really enjoy his work and the previous poem on there he read so I now have a voice to go with the words. xx

  2. Amazing poem, he has such a talent. I know you have shared other works before Lea.

    • Léa says:

      Quilty! That is when it comes to reblogs of Tony’s work… It really resonates of so much I know, have seen and worked with. Thanks Kath.

Leave a Reply

