Theo’s Golden Ticket

“You’re never too old, too wacky, too wild, to pick up a book and read to a child.”                     – Dr. Seuss

“A book is like a garden, carried in the pocket.”  – Chinese Proverb

“Any book that helps a child to form a habit of reading,  to make reading one of his deep and continuing needs, is good for him.”  – Maya Angelo

                                                                         *

Theo’s golden ticket

       –

I hear plastic wheels clacking

Crossing the kitchen floor

From ear to ear he’s grinning

A surprise he has in store

          –

Struggling his passage

Now carpeted terrain

Seizing grandma unaware his goal

His eyes have taken aim

       –

Theo aims his vessel

Stories to behold

Hungry for some cuddles

Possibilities he’s trolled

             –

The treasure at last

Their prize is now in sight

Observant from the mast

Grandma’s arms ready

To seize this impish mite

     –

The treasure’s in sight

Stories the prize he’s won

Love of reading – will he take the bite

Learning has begun

*

Bisous,

Léa

About Léa

A wanderer who has found home in the South of France.
This entry was posted in Books, Poetry, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Theo’s Golden Ticket

  1. Polly says:

    Wonderful imagery in this poem, Léa 😀

  2. Awww..how sweet. I love when my grandkids crawl up in my lap to read. The first thing I thought of from the title was Willie Wonka and the Chocolate Factory.

    • Léa says:

      I do understand the connection with the title. However, for me, reading and learning the love of reading and books is the real prize. Thank you for commenting. Léa

  3. Eileen says:

    Delightful. I could see it! It made me smile.

    • Léa says:

      Theo is a dear friend’s grandson and was visiting Christine. She was telling me about their story times and that poem just fell out. If you enjoyed it, that makes me smile. Thank you Eileen

  4. Very sweet poem Lea and very special time.

    • Léa says:

      Thank you Kath. It came out of an image I had after Christine told me about her grandchildren and story telling there… 🙂

      • Wow! I thought you had little visitors you are so clever xx

      • Léa says:

        Ah, to read to young children… but we can’t have everything and I am so grateful to be where I am. Thank you Kath xx

      • Lea I just received your mail. Willow and I sat there enjoying reading your translations. Willow got top of her class for Japanese and has such an interest in language. So thank you for the entertaining letter and posties.

      • Léa says:

        Kath, thank you. I was wondering if it disappeared in the post? I love the little owl and it is the one that appeared in my neighbours yard last year. You must be so proud of her, I can’t imagine learning Japanese. I struggle enough with French. The reading is one thing but speaking… I’ve never been a talker but let me write and I am comfortable. My older son counts Chinese among the languages he know. I think he is fluent in four?

Leave a Reply

