Setting fire to Wales, it is, one embankment at a time #steam #railway #llangollen

Simply charming. Now I shall imagine myself there with my little Welsh grandmother and Miss Marple…

The Diesel-Electric Elephant Company, England.

One of the rewards at the end of the Llangollen Canal, if rewards there need be, is the Llangollen Steam Railway. Trains that run on boiled water! Well, if truth be told they run on tracks, but it’s the over-excited H2uh-oh that moves them along. Tap water usually, not Perrier. Perrier gives the engine the burps.

Lomo Photo Effect Tool: https://www.tuxpi.com/photo-effects/lomo 80072 at Llangollen

Ten miles of delicious eccentricity runs from Llangollen town to Corwen, and it runs past several sheep, a bit of the River Dee and a spot of countryside. To web from the quotesite:

Llangollen Railway is the only standard gauge heritage railway in North Wales. We are located beside the historic Dee Bridge (built in 1345) in the centre of Llangollen town. The journey is a relaxing 10 miles travelling through the stunning Dee Valley to the lovely town of Corwen the cross roads of North Wales. …

So there’s lovely…

View original post 1,029 more words

About Léa

A wanderer who has found home and herself in the South of France.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Setting fire to Wales, it is, one embankment at a time #steam #railway #llangollen

  1. Ian Hutson says:

    Thank you – the reblog is very much appreciated. I am glad that you enjoyed the tale, it was a really fun day out – even with the fires! 😉

    • Léa says:

      There has been a bit of Wales deep in my heart nearly all my life. I do hope to get there for a visit. Besides visiting where my grandmother was born and grew up, you have just made my to-do list a bit longer and I thank you. The blog post was utterly charming and I could imagine the journey and now want to take it. It was a pleasure to pass that on to my readers and thank you. Léa

    • Léa says:

      Also, I am most grateful for the follow on two of my blogs. 🙂 If you are in North Wales, you may also speak Welsh? How lovely that would be. I so enjoyed listening to the Welsh singers…

Leave a Reply

