Old books: paper or ebook

“I do love secondhand books that open to the page some previous owner read oftenest. The day Hazlitt came he opened to “I hate to read new books,” and I hollered “Comrade” to whoever owned it before me.”                                                                  – Helene Hanff, 84 Charing Cross Road

              –

Old books: paper or ebook

 

  

I like meeting

And old paperback

Like an illicit lover

No fresh from printer’s glare

No stiff cover

 

So comfortable the invitation

Easily pages turn

Consummate host for this reader

With scant euros to burn

 

Each book that I discover

A long awaited friend

Its secrets I’ll uncover

Its binding I shall bend

 

Not disrespectful

au contraire, mon cher

Treasure in my hands

Riches beyond compare

 

 

I’ll treasure every syllable

That twists about my tongue

Cautious of each coffee spill

A drop of wine or two

Read, read, read – take your fill

 

 

Bisous,

 

Léa

My apologies for the rhyming, something I rarely do and never intentionally.

About Léa

A wanderer who has found home and herself in the South of France.
This entry was posted in Books and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Old books: paper or ebook

  1. Mary Smith says:

    Sometimes – like in this – rhyming works really well. I totally agree with the sentiments expressed in this and I’m sure many other readers will, too.

  2. Delightful Lea, I actually like both depending on whats in it, new or old if it’s worth my time I’m not choosy.

    • Léa says:

      Thanks Kath. Perhaps it would be good to enjoy both. Alas, I am very tactile and love the feel of an old paperback…

Leave a Reply

