If you just smile…

                               “You’ll find that life is still worthwhile, if you just smile.”                                                     – Sir Charles (Charlie) Chaplin

 –

If you just smile

 

If you know him

At all – through old

Black and white

Silent screen film

You may know he was rich

Knighted by the Queen

 

But it wasn’t always so

He made other people

Laugh – his gift

The bootstrap to pull

Himself from poverty

From deep insanity

 

Learning to read others

A vital defense mechanism

Served him well

Distract, divert attention

He mastered it all

Survival of the keenest

 

Reaching deep inside

His darkness – producing

A smile, then another

They became easier

They were natural

From deep inside his pain

Rescuing others from theirs

 

All the while, he smiled

Made others smile, laughing

Till they thought they would burst

Slapstick – a special gift

Self-taught, an avid reader

The common man related

Core smiles don’t lie

 

Eyes that twinkle and 

Tell his secrets – little tramp

 

 

Bisous,  

 

Léa

About Léa

A wanderer who has found home and herself in the South of France.
This entry was posted in Author, Humor and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

22 Responses to If you just smile…

  1. Abhijith Padmakumar says:

    Great words Lea 😊. I just loved it so much !!

    • Léa says:

      Thank you so much. Check out his autobiography, it is so inspiring. 🙂

    • Léa says:

      Thank you so much my friend. Thank you for choosing to follow one of my blogs and I do hope you continue to enjoy the posts and stop by and chat! 🙂 Do look for his autobiography and there was a film made about him in the 90’s, I believe, which tells some of his story. He was a remarkable man. I like to imagine how he would have made fun of some other politicians such as he did in The Dictator? 🙂

      • Abhijith Padmakumar says:

        Ok Lea, I promise you that I will look up for his autobiography 😊. Please visit my blog and do let me know your feedback and suggestions. This is the link

        http:// authorabhijith.com

      • Léa says:

        Yes, I shall absolutely visit your blog and I hope you will let me know what you think of his book. Meanwhile, if you find someone without a smile, give them one of yours. Smiles are contagious! :))

      • Abhijith Padmakumar says:

        Ok Lea 😊

      • Léa says:

        Okay, I tried and it said that the blog had been removed by the author so if you have another link, please let me know. 🙂

      • Abhijith Padmakumar says:

        Am so sorry for the inconvenience. It is a technical problem and I have informed the concerned. Please keep trying in the link below. Thank you so much for your kind concern 😊

        http:// authorabhijith.com

      • Léa says:

        No inconvenience my friend. Life is easier if we are flexible. Chaplin knew that better than anyone. Well, I do hope it all gets sorted out and please stop by to let me know so I can check it out. 🙂

      • Léa says:

        No problem, I am there! 🙂

      • Abhijith Padmakumar says:

        Ok 😊

  2. Charlie Chaplin, the little tramp, was a giant of a man and a great thinker. His character’s final speech in The Great Dictator should be required viewing for every school’s civics class. I haven’t read the biography but have studied his film career. He and his family used to holiday regularly in Waterville, Co Kerry. Thank you, Lea, for reminding me of someone who should never be forgotten.

    • Léa says:

      I read his autobiography last year and I couldn’t put it down the whole time. Actually, I haven’t seen any of his films but someone gave me a DVD of a film about him. It peaked my curiosity so I tracked down the bio. The rest they say is history and what a history! Now read the poem again or just go to youtube and listen to Nat King Cole sing Smile! It includes pics from The Kid and you, I promise, will smile. It was playing in my head as I wrote the piece. 🙂

      • There are countless versions of Smile. My favourite is by a Franco-American jazz singer, Madeleine Peyroux, https://youtu.be/lu0v81gYQVY. Tony Bennett has recorded a classic version, too. Chaplin’s early film work was innovative and he never failed to inject his ‘slapstick’ work with a subtle social message that made so many authorities in America so twitchy they forced him to leave, to their eternal discredit. You should see The Great Dictator and that final speech. https://youtu.be/w8HdOHrc3OQ

      • Léa says:

        I shall check out both those links. Cole’s voice just seemed so perfect behind those clips from The Kid. I have ordered one of his films and the other is on the list. Eventually, I would love to see them all! Thank you for the links and sharing so much about Chaplin.

    • Léa says:

      Can you imagine Chaplin’s response to Trump! I can laugh just thinking about it….

  3. claudia says:

    oh you make me curious to read a bit about his background – i have to confess that i know his movies but nothing about the person really… thanks Léa

    • Léa says:

      Claudia, I read his autobiography last year after someone gave me a little film about him, I was intrigued. I still haven’t seen any of his films, only youtube clips but I have one on order. The autobiography I couldn’t put down. Happy reading!

  4. Léa says:

    BTW, thanks. If I can make you curious about him in a few words, I am pleased indeed.

Leave a Reply

