And the rain fell

“When you are sorrowful look again in your heart, and you shall
see that in truth you are weeping for that which has been your
delight.”
~Kahlil Gibran

“It’s so curious: one can resist tears and ‘behave’ very well in the
hardest hours of grief. But then someone makes you a friendly
sign behind a window, or one notices that a flower that was in bud
only yesterday has suddenly blossomed, or a letter slips from a
drawer… and everything collapses.”
~Colette

“Breathe.
Listen for my footfall in your heart.
I am not gone but merely walk within you.”
~Nicholas Evans

For my daughter Jacqueline (1974-1976)

And the rain fell

And the rain fell

Scattering precious droplets

That would cling

To your long dark lashes

And your down-like curls

The laughter in your eyes

So evident in your outburst

As you thrust back your wee head

Straining to catch each particle of moisture

Within your grasp

And the rain fell

*

And I marveled in your delight

Each time as if it were the first

The magic ignited

In your ebony-brown eyes

As you tried with clenched fists

To capture the minute drops

As if to possess them – forever

And the rain fell

*

We come to realize

That each of us

Like those drops of rain

Must abandon the boundaries of earth

To embark on the uncharted journey

Seizing memories as our companion

And the rain fell

*

It soaked my clothes

It dampened the virgin wood that encased you

And my body trembled

As the deep pain clawed at my heart

The freshly upturned soil

That waited to embrace you

And the rain fell

*

The skies above seemed to match my tears

Falling softly

The icy wind

Seemed to mock the last kiss

We shared

The frigid wax of your lips

The eyes that no longer met mine

My arms long to caress you one more time

…And the rain fell

Bisous,

Léa

About Léa

A wanderer who has found home and herself in the South of France.
This entry was posted in Loss and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

34 Responses to And the rain fell

  1. Robert Sinclair says:

    Nice, I really enjoyed this one.

  2. singingbones says:

    Such a poignant poem…. my heart goes out to you, Lea. that kind of sorrow knows no bounds of time or space. May you be comforted by your angels each time the grief washes anew….

  3. compelling, heartfelt and heartwrenching – lovely, albeit beyond sad

  4. rita barnes-szuszkiewicz says:

    beautiful … I see the pictures

  5. she IS with you, i can feel it xx

    • leamuse says:

      Thank you. I feel her here despite that tiny grave on Long Island. While less frequent, flashbacks make it so immediate. Then it begins to rain and I hear her laughter.

    • leamuse says:

      Yes. At times just a peaceful knowing, at times a powerful flashback. When it rains, I hear her laughter.
      Thank you for sharing your thoughts.
      Léa

  6. claudia says:

    i’m all in tears…wonderfully sensitively written but just can’t stop crying…i’m so sorry lea

    • leamuse says:

      There is a tiny grave at Mount Golda on Long Island. But my daughter is here with me, regardless of where I am! Sometimes there are flashbacks but when it rains, I remember her laughter. She loved the rain. It was a bright sunny day with no clouds. Yet it started raining… It was Jacqueline. So many years ago, but in a flash, right now. Thank you for sharing this with me.

  7. It feels a little callous to “like” this post Lea – but I “like” the poem, the beauty expressed, whilst feeling much sympathy for the woman who experienced this. x

    • leamuse says:

      Thank you and I do understand. All the comments I have had say much the same thing. It has been a long time but in flashbacks was yesterday. It was my daughter and when it rains, I hear her laughter she loved the rain so much.

  8. Rachel says:

    My heart wept.

  9. Bev T says:

    So very beautiful, so very heart wrenching! Thanks for sharing your deepest feelings. Bev

  10. cindy knoke says:

    So sorry. So beautiful.

  11. And now I am speechless Lea; I cannot even begin to understand. But I am trying to. This poem is beautiful.

    Love

    Christine

    Xxx

    • leamuse says:

      Christine, I often think understanding such pain is beyond mere mortals.

      I don’t know if you noticed the quotes but they did speak to me.

      Love,

      Léa

      Xxx

  12. Yes Lea, both quotes speak very loudly to me too. You always find such appeopriate words which enhance, not your poetry, but the subjects you write about. Your poetry needs no enhancing whatsoever. 😊 Xx

  13. Anna says:

    I’m almost speechless. I will se the rain differently now. Powerful poem. Of course sad but also full of something hopeful in a way.

    • Léa says:

      I didn’t understand why the rain depressed me so until I wrote that. Now it doesn’t depress me it is as if it is a silent message from Jacqueline.

  14. tric says:

    Beautifully expressed. I am so sorry for your loss. Grief is timeless. As someone who shares many moments with a mother who has lost her child I know I have no real understanding of your loss, there are no words, regardless of the length of time that has passed.
    Thank you for sharing this post with me.

Leave a Reply

