Procrastination

“Time passes irrevocably.”   – Virgil

 

“Only put off until tomorrow what you are willing to die having left undone.”

  • Pablo Picasso

 

“Procrastination is like masturbation. At first it feels good, but in the end you’re only screwing yourself.” – Author unknown, possibly from Monty Python?

 *

Procrastination

 

It can wait until

Tomorrow – that idea

Spinning around in my head

I just have to run these errands

I shall write that poem

Later – sometime next week

I shall have plenty of time

Once this season has ended

There will be no excuses

For getting back to the project

Long awaited novel – I will

Get to it soon – have you

Ever noticed how swiftly

Time dissipates? There is

Never enough of it to

Accomplish what I want

No, that will have to wait

Perhaps I can get to it

Next week, or better yet

After the New Year?

And once again I’ve

Lost another opportunity

When does it end?

C’est fini avec moi!

*

Bisous,

Léa

About Léa

A wanderer who has found home and herself in the South of France.
This entry was posted in Musings and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to Procrastination

  1. Fabulous! Im so pleased you posted this Lea! Picasso’s quote is so very poeerful! xxx

  2. claudia says:

    i have to confess… my problem is never procrastination but rather on the other end of the scale…if there’s a thought in my mind, i want to do it IMMEDIATELY… oy… that can be annoying as well… some things should ripen a bit before we’re really ready to do them… so sometimes i wish i were a bit more of a procrastinator…smiles

  3. Time and ambition are such terrible task masters. ..I read somewhere recently: “Try less, trust more…”…. and I TRY to do that! 🙂

  4. It doesn’t go anywhere….our own minds do….:-)

  5. Im there with you Lea lost opportunities to create art, novels or picture books. I need a better focus for 2015. I need to set a dreaded deadline. I wish we could buy bags of time on street corners. Now that would be a booming business indeed.

  6. John (Jack) McClintock says:

    C’est fini avec moi!

    Mad Jack

    C’est fini avec moi!

    John (Jack) McClintock jmcclim699@aol.com

  7. Polly says:

    So many of us will identify with this poem Léa 🙂

  8. Mélanie says:

    @“Time passes irrevocably.” – Virgil – … le temps est relatif depuis tjs… NOUS passons avec “lui”… 😉
    * * *
    wonderful post, babe… ❤ have a serene evening & c u asap… 🙂

  9. beckarooney says:

    Haha that Monty Python quote gave me a giggle 😉 superbly witty yet honest poem Lea, as the saying goes: “time is precious, waste it wisely” 😉 xx

Leave a Reply

